Home > Uncategorized > Those old homophone blues

Those old homophone blues

In this age of social media, text messaging and email, one thing has become perfectly obvious.  People do not grasp homophones.

 They’re, there and their are the clear winners (losers?) with your and you’re running a close second.  Two keeps its own identity pretty well, but to and too are twins wearing matching outfits.  Today I saw a classic – patients and patience.  People are becoming creative monsters in their errors and spell check cannot save you!  I applaud the creativity, but I’d much rather see it put to use in your email subject line rather that sending a hundred emails titled “Question” or “Problem.”  Ah, but I digress…

These are not hard things, guys.  We all went to third grade.  We all learned them together; now let’s use them correctly together!  I know, I know, they’re hard to remember.  I myself have difficulty with those slippery little devils, affect and effect.  (If you, too, suffer from this plight, affect is a verb and effect is a noun. Problem solved, huzzah!)  Point being, it seems to have become acceptable to get these wrong.  IT IS NOT!  Every time you type “Your great,” a member of the Grammar Police dies.  Surely you don’t want that on your conscience.

I know I’m not alone when I cringe and shudder at these mistakes.  I never know if I should let it slide, or correct the person.  I truly am not out to make anyone feel stupid, but am I being a friend by allowing you to carry on like this?  Because, I promise you, for every email you send asking for “patients,” there’s someone like me on the other end, giggling.  So would you like me to kindly point out the correct word, or would you rather I suffer in silence?  I promise I won’t be (very) obnoxious about it.

Now you may be saying to yourself, “Sure, I know about homophones, but I can never remember which one to use.  What does this woman want me to do?”  Aha!  I’m glad you asked.  I have the solution.  This afternoon I discovered a delightful resource that will end your homophone heartbreak now and forever.

http://www.homophone.com

There you go.  Your welcome.

*note – please excuse my not using quotes for each and every word I referenced, it was making my eyes hurt.

**also note, my use of “your welcome” is ironic, and irony never killed the grammar police.  It did kill a little piece of my soul to type it, though.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

