Home > Uncategorized > No One Likes a Smart Ass

No One Likes a Smart Ass

Disclaimer:  This post contains repeated use of the word “ass”.  If you find this offensive, you may want to take a pass on this one.

All my life, I’ve been told “No one likes a smart ass.” (looking at you, Mom)  LIES!!  This couldn’t be further from the truth!  In my experience, EVERYONE loves a smart ass!  They love us so much that they try to be like us!  And so the smart asses of the world go forth and multiply…

Maybe it’s my twisted sense of humor, but there’s really nothing funnier than some witty, dry comment that comes out of left field.  And it’s really all in the delivery.  It’s the funniest when no one is sure if you’re serious.  There are mad bonus points if you’re mocking someone.  (I know that’s not nice.  Whatever.  I can laugh at myself, can you?)

I realize that I am biased.  I have been a smart ass for as long as I can remember.  I was raised among smart asses.  I married one.  I am now raising a couple of kids who are so fluent in smart assery that I couldn’t do anything but laugh at the irony when they first asked the definition of the word “sarcasm.”  It probably says something about me that I find it so hysterical.  Again, whatever.  What makes me laugh, makes me laugh.  It’s fun and harmless.  It’s also a challenge to watch what you say before your innocent words elicit a smart ass remark.  It’s good for you, too, because there’s nothing like living with smart asses to keep you from taking yourself too seriously.  (And heaven forbid you actually TRY to be serious, because someone’s gonna drop a Joker-style “Why so SERIOUS” on you before you finish talking.)

So, if you’re a smart ass hater, chill out.  Laugh at yourself.  We’re just having fun, because Lord knows, if I can’t laugh at the stuff around me every day, I’d never get to laugh at anything.  And always remember, it’s better to be a smart ass than a dumb ass.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

