Home > Uncategorized > All I Really I Need to Know, I Learned in Retrospect

All I Really I Need to Know, I Learned in Retrospect

My father, God love him, might be my biggest fan.  (Mom gives him a run for his money, she’s actually printing these posts and mailing them to people!)  The other day he likened my blog to the Robert Fulghum book, All I Really I Need to Know, I Learned in Kindergarten.  Well, he may be reading though the lenses of parental pride, but he got me thinking about a book I haven’t read in better than ten years.  I, in fact, did not learn everything I need to know in grade school, but these are the top ten things I’ve learned since then that I’d like to go back and tell my younger self.

Apparently, I was a little slow on the uptake

  1. That beribboned side ponytail?  You’re rocking it, girl.  Don’t listen to the haters.  Wear that side ponytail every day you can talk Mom into doing it.
  2. Don’t quit piano lessons.  Please don’t quit.  You will regret it the rest of your life.  A couple of hours a week in a dark and funny-smelling house is a fair trade-off, trust me.
  3. Be nicer to that nerdy kid who sits in front of you in fourth grade.  You’re going to marry him one day and he has a long memory.
  4. Speaking of future relationships, you know that little boy playing with cars at Mom’s aerobics class?  Cherish every moment you have with him, because there won’t be nearly enough of them.
  5. Speak up and stop being so goshdarned timid!  Why not be Goldilocks in the school play?  You’re the blonde kid, after all.  And while we’re on the subject, you’re not always going to have those lovely blond locks, so appreciate them while they last.
  6. Take it easy on big sis when she doesn’t want to play Barbies.  It’s not easy being preteen and it’s not all about you, you insufferable little brat.
  7. Stop wishing for a baby brother.  You’re wasting your time, you’re not getting one.
  8. Your first grade teacher is right.  You’re going to end up with migraines and ulcers unless you learn to lighten up.  You’re going to cause yourself a lot of pain and suffering before you figure this one out.
  9. That super-cool “Choose Life” t-shirt you have?  The same one George Michael wore in the Wham! video?  Throw it out.  It doesn’t mean what you think it means.  While you’re at it, you might reconsider the “Frankie Say Relax” shirt as well.
  10. The red dots on your sneakers don’t make you run faster and spinach for dinner will not get you across the monkey bars.  You can do whatever you believe you can do and you need to learn to believe in yourself sooner rather than later.

There you go, Daddy.  My homage to Robert Fulghum.  Thank you for the lovely compliment and the faith you have in my silly little blog.  I won’t be waiting by the phone for the publishers just yet, but I always enjoy a trip down memory lane.

photo credit: www.retrobookshop.com

  1. Barb Strimple
    February 13, 2012 at 10:18 am

    I can’t believe you remembered me telling you about the aerobics class and the little boy and his cars about 30 years ago. Again this was wonderful and so proud of you.

    • February 13, 2012 at 2:09 pm

      I also remember that the cool down music at said aerobics class was “just the way you are” by Billy Joel. Mind like a steel trap. And thank you. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

