Home > Uncategorized > My Blog Name is Lame

My Blog Name is Lame

I am not comfortable with titles, never have been.  I don’t generally use my work title, I cringe if someone calls me Mrs., and I have a long history of writing things without titles.  I have always felt that a title is much like a label, and we all hate labels, don’t we (smile and nod, please)?  A title defines your work, yourself and everything you’re about.  Well, maybe not really, but in my head it does.  It’s kind of a miracle that I was capable of naming my children, although I my firstborn was nearly here before we managed to settle on a name for her.  And I changed my son’s middle name at zero hour.  So I guess I might never have accomplished that if birth certificates hadn’t forced my hand.

So now on to my current conundrum.  When I started this blog, I spent about five minutes trying to think of a clever name for it, then I threw in the towel and gave it a silly title that is really nothing more than a “secret” code I use for my name sometimes.  I honestly didn’t think it mattered.  Well, I was new to the blogging game and now I see that it is important to have a good name for your blog.  It tells people a little something about you and whether they want to spend their time reading your ramblings.  However, even with that fresh knowledge, I still have problems.

http://www.zazzle.com doesn't have ideas for me, either.

1. I still can’t think of a witty name for my blog.  I still feel like whatever I choose defines me and all my words and I’m not comfortable with that.  Also, I am simply not creative enough.  When I asked my husband for help, he gave me “Frito.”  Thanks, babe.

2. I’m not entirely sure what will happen with my blog if I change the name.  I know WordPress will keep all of my posts, but what happens to my faithful readers?  I do not have so very many, I surely don’t want to risk losing any one of you.

I am starting to feel like I’m stuck with my impulsive blog name.  If I had realized that this was more than a whim, perhaps I would have spent more time on it in the beginning.  Ah well, live and learn.  My blog name may be lame, but it probably would have been, anyway.  At least this way I don’t have to feel bad for putting forth a lot of effort for a stupid result.  I suppose now I should spend a minute working out the Categories option that WordPress has so thoughtfully provided instead.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

