Home > Uncategorized > Name that Misquote

Name that Misquote

My husband and I have a dorky habit.  We constantly throw pop culture quotes around.  Generally they’re the same ones again and again and it amuses me that our children have picked up the habit.  Most people I know don’t talk like this; they actually come up with original thoughts and speak to each other like normal people.  For us, we get bonus points any time we make a quote fit into our conversation.  It’s like a lifetime game of trivia.  Since I’m sure we’re not the only people who speak to each other like this, I thought we could have some fun with it.

Let’s play a game!  I will list some of the most popular quotes from our family and you get to identify them!  Movies, TV, music, old PSAs, anything we’ve heard once or twice is fair game.  Come on…don’t leave me hanging here!  Also, please don’t call me out on any that are misquoted, I’m sure we’ve garbled some of them over the years.  Now, let’s go…

  1. English!  Do you speak it? 
  2. Now you know.  And knowing is half the battle.
  3. I’ve heard it both ways.
  4. I learned it by watching you.
  5. Sewer rat may taste like pumpkin pie, but I’ll never know.
  6. What the $%#@ is the internet?
  7. Ooh! A piece of candy!
  8. You can’t always get what you want, but if you try sometimes, you just might find…you get what you need.
  9. All right, here’s the situation.  Parents went away for a week’s vacation.
  10. They mostly come at night.  Mostly.
  11. That’s what she said.
  12. Do or do not.  There is no try.
  13. If you were a hot dog, would you eat yourself?  It’s a simple question, Norm.
  14. These aren’t the droids you’re looking for.
  15. You keep using that word.  I do not think it means what you think it means.

Either we watch too much television, we’re incapable of original thought, or we just have a silly little game.  I admit, hubs gets me every once in a while, since he watches a lot more movies than I, and also, he’s not afflicted with mommy brain, which seems to have caused permanent damage to my memory banks.  Does your family do this as well?  Tell me about it!  I could use the reassurance that we’re not the only weirdos in the world, but more importantly, I need some fresh material.  What are your favorite quotes and how do they worm their way into your daily life?

 

  1. April 9, 2012 at 10:44 am

    oooh. I actually know a couple of these! Recognize others, but can’t recall where I’ve heard them. I’m gonna answer with other quotes!

    1. You know what they call a Quarter Pounder in France?

    10. Don’t worry, me and my squadron of ultimate badasses will protect you. or: Get away from her you BITCH!

    12. I dunno which this is from so I’m just giving another Yoda quote: When 900 years you reach, look so good, you will not.

    14. My friend doesn’t like you. I don’t like you either.

    15. My name is Inigo Montoya, you killed my father. Prepare to die.

    • April 9, 2012 at 11:14 am

      Yes, yes!! Your Yoda quote is another one we use from time to time, I knew my list wouldn’t be all inclusive! Also, for 15 – I know something that you do not. I am not left-handed.
      Thanks for reading and playing along!

  2. April 12, 2012 at 8:09 am

    i just read this, and my husband and i do the same thing~ we can hold entire conversations in nothing but movie/TV quotes. i think i recognized all of yours, most of which we also use.. here are some of our other faves:
    “i don’t know what everyone is yelling about! LOUD NOISES!”
    “… ‘corbin dallas'”(usually used by my husband when i am being longwinded)
    “i’m in a glass case of emotion!”
    “you want me to do TWO things?!”
    “i AM an asshole!”
    “i’m not trying to get into a semantic argument, i just want the protein!”
    “you’re a handsome devil… what’s your name?”
    and i could go on and on and on and on…

    • April 12, 2012 at 8:56 am

      Wow, you guys are much more advanced than we are. I am in awe, now we have a goal. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

