Home > Uncategorized > The Children are Louding

The Children are Louding

When my daughter was a toddler, we had great fun with her creative use of words.  She made up tons of words to work the way she needed them to within her limited vocabulary, but all these years later, the one that stands out the most is “louding.”  The definition is, obviously, “being loud.”

She had one heck of a lot of foresight, since she hasn’t stopped louding since her brother joined the fold.  These kids are loud.  They’re loud all the time.  They’re loud when they fight.  They’re loud when they’re playing together.  They’re loud when they put away dishes and they’re even loud when the brush their teeth.  Why?!  Why must they be so darn loud and why didn’t they come with indoor voices?

I’m sensitive to loud things.  I get extremely irritable in loud noisy crowds, if the TV is too loud and most especially if the TV is too loud because I’m trying to hear it over maniacal laughter in the next room.  My kids fight a lot, a lot, so I try to be appreciative when they’re getting along.  But, I swear before all of you, they’re louder when they’re playing than when they’re screeching at each other.  I hate to rain on their parade, but more than once I have had to break up the party and send them to separate rooms until they can learn to be quiet. 

Why is this?  They don’t have to shout to be heard around here, they’re not neglected and I promise you that I have listened attentively to more stories about middle school drama and Pokemon than any one person should have to endure.  But, still, they loud at me.  What makes them like this?  Hubs and I are both relatively quiet people.  We don’t shout.  We don’t screech laughter.  Is this a childhood trait, or are they going to grow up to disrupt public functions with their loudness?  Is the mark I leave on the world to be the mother of louders?

I am sorry, world.  I’m trying to shush them.  I’m trying to encourage their joy and laughter, just quietly.  Or outside, perhaps.

  1. April 22, 2012 at 7:14 pm

    LOL! Just the other day my daughter said, “but I’m just having fun!” And I replied, “I am so happy that you are and proud of you for being such a nice imaginer (see – I make up words too!) now go do it somewhere else.” I think every mother feels this way sometimes!

    • April 22, 2012 at 7:17 pm

      I know…I feel bad busting up their good time, but there’s only so much I can take!! Thanks for commenting!

  2. April 30, 2012 at 5:45 pm

    I completely agree to the ‘louding’ factor… I guess all kids have it.. perhaps when we were younger we had more outdoor activities to release sound and energy ..but the kids of today are stuck indoors learning to stifle themselves within the environment that we provide… I completely understand that it drives you up the wall, its the same with me too… My daughter screams for everything.. so much so that she’s learnt to get things done her way just so that we can stop the ‘louding’… Kids are real smart learners.. 😀

    • April 30, 2012 at 6:52 pm

      One day I will invent a volume control for children, and then I will be a very, very rich woman. 😉

  1. April 23, 2012 at 9:08 am

Leave a Reply

