Home > Uncategorized > Things That Bother Me

Things That Bother Me

It’s a lazy, dreary Sunday.  My husband is watching a marathon of Game of Thrones, which has failed to hold my attention, much less my interest.  I’m nursing a low-level aggravation with a number of things and I’d be remiss not to share them with you, my lovely readers.  And so we begin.

Macaroni, lover of warm laundry and opener of doors.

  • My cat can open doors.  This is a true thing.  I don’t mean doors that are pushed mostly closed, I mean doors that are latched closed.  I now have to actually lock doors to keep the cat out and I suppose it’s only a matter of time before he masters lock picking.  This worries me rather a lot.  Especially since this cat doesn’t like me very much.
  • Someone at work keeps putting a half ream of paper in the copier and leaves the other half lying around.  The paper tray is specifically designed to hold a whole ream of paper.  Why would someone do this?
  • When people pretend to be smarter than they are, and use big words incorrectly.  I feel rude and mean if I correct them, so then I’m forced to have a conversation with someone using some jacked up word and I have to keep a straight face.
  • My daughter is annoyed that she can’t skate.  I can’t decide if I should buy her skates and teach her or just let it go.  Why must motherhood constantly spring these little conundrums on me?  I am really good at figuring out the big stuff, but these little decisions just befuddle me.
  • Someone asked me this week what my rubber band ball was made of.  This was a grown, educated person who holds a good job, and it was a serious question.  I worry about our society’s future sometimes.
  • One of my biggest pet peeves is ending a sentence with a preposition, but sometimes I can’t avoid it without making the sentence awkward and unnatural.

    They may appear to be securely tied, but Lefty is up to something.

 

  • My left shoe keeps coming untied.  Why my left shoe?  Do I suffer from left-shoe-tying inadequacy?  Is there a class or something I need to take on this?
  • Some days I feel like I’m surrounded by people sucking their teeth and it makes me want to punch them straight in the eye.  But I’m not allowed to punch people in the eye.
  • When I say, “I don’t know,” I usually mean it.  Yet people persist in questioning me even after I have answered that I don’t know.  Even if the answer to every question is “I don’t know.”  I don’t know, I don’t know, I don’t freaking know.  Ask someone else.
  • People keep posting things on Facebook like – Click “Like” if you…Aren’t ashamed of being Christian, Love your Child, Hate Cancer, Eat Candy, whatever.  Please stop this madness.  There are many effective and productive ways of expressing your beliefs.  Clicking “Like” isn’t on that list.
Because God is on Facebook right now, keeping score. via http://www.buzzfeed.com

 

  1. April 22, 2012 at 4:44 pm

    Ha! Thank you for giving me a smile.

    • April 22, 2012 at 5:10 pm

      Thanks for reading 🙂

  2. April 22, 2012 at 9:03 pm

    People using flamboyant words rudimentary what that like? Lol! I am also becoming extremely annoyed with the “click like if you…” on facebook. Also, if I may add to your list of things that bother me with regard to facebook: the 1000 photos posted of friends’ babies, we get it they are cute!! Also, what is up with the photos taken in the bathroom mirror? Seeing the crapper in the background looks real classy! Wow, that feels better now I know why you post these, it is therapeutic.

    • April 22, 2012 at 9:08 pm

      LOL at the crapper in the background!! I completely agree! The best phone I ever had was a flip phone that would allow you to see a preview of the pic on the front screen while you took the pic. True story of how I eliminated crappers from my self portraits. Or you could just ask someone else to take the picture. 😀

  3. April 23, 2012 at 7:33 am

    my old boss was notorious for using 50c words, but at least he used them correctly.
    and worse than the “click like” posts are the “repost if you agree” posts… it’s like chain mail for statuses.

    • April 23, 2012 at 8:06 am

      Maybe I should start adding that to all my statuses. Repost or you hate God, America and your mother. hahaha

  4. April 23, 2012 at 4:26 pm

    LOL! I know exactly what you mean. I too hate the “word” thing and tooth sucking and adults who go out in public in their pajamas rank right up there with the tooth sucking on my personal annoyance scale.

    • April 23, 2012 at 4:44 pm

      Ack, pajamas in public!! It’s become so widespread that I completely overlooked it. Thank you for reminding me how bad it is before I wander off in my pjs. 🙂 Thanks for commenting.

  5. April 29, 2012 at 1:46 pm

    As an eye doctor I’m glad you don’t punch people in the eye. It ruins my day as well as theirs. Why should we all suffer?

    • April 29, 2012 at 1:49 pm

      LOL! I will have to keep that in mind when choosing punching locations. Should I ever be allowed to punch people, that is. Thanks for reading!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

