Home > Uncategorized > Hot Potato, Hot Potato: Four Kids’ Shows that I Secretly Love

Hot Potato, Hot Potato: Four Kids’ Shows that I Secretly Love

Any parent knows about the torture of children’s programming.  My daughter went through the Teletubbies stage, during which I felt the need to rip my eyeballs straight out of my head and stick chopsticks into my eardrums.  My son is currently nurturing a life-long adoration for Pokemon which confuses me far more than any cartoon ought to.  Hubs accidentally turned on Little Einsteins yesterday and in the fifteen seconds it took to turn the channel, my brain went completely numb.  The good news is that it’s not all bad, or, if it is all bad, there’s at least some that I can remember fondly.  For the most part, my kids now watch a lot of the same shows that we do, and I find myself in the bizarre position of missing some of the preschool drivel that is permanently imprinted on my brain.  There are some shows that my kids have now outgrown that I still secretly want to add to my DVR’s auto-record function.

The Wiggles

via sharetv.org

I will be ridiculed, but I loved the Wiggles.  They sing fun and clever songs and more than one time, I found myself playing the CD when my kids weren’t even in the car.  I also harbored a secret crush on Anthony Wiggle, but that’s better left unexplored.  My son loved all things Wiggles for a good couple of years, to the point of developing an Aussie accent, then he suddenly outgrew them.  I was bereft.  No more Big Red Car?  No more Captain Feathersword?  Whatever shall I do?  The answer still eludes me, even though the child in question is now old enough to be horrified that he ever watched such a show.  When I’m alone in the house, you may hear the haunting refrain, “Hot Potato, Hot Potato…potato, potato, potato.”

Blues Clues

via epguides.com

I don’t mean to diss Joe, but we were fans during Steve’s reign.  How I miss Steve and Blue, and Mr. Salt and Mrs. Pepper and the whole crew.  This is another one that had songs that have stuck with me.   It’s hard to get the mail each day without singing the song, “Here’s the mail, it never fails, it makes me want to wag my tail…”  Well, you know the rest.  It’s a great show for kids and it’s got a charm that even moms can appreciate.  It’s one of the rare shows that teaches preschoolers valuable things without inducing maternal eye rolls and brain numbness.  How I miss you, Blue.  You’re the best dog, ever, AND a blue girl dog, to boot.  There’s one in the face for blue-is-for-boys.  Bawr-bar-bar!

Drake & Josh

via citv.wikia.com

This is really a terrible show.  I often considered banning it because of the very terrible light it shone on parental roles.  These boys need a firm hand, to be sure.  But they’re charming and it’s hard not to like them.  The are trouble makers, but not really bad trouble makers.  I’ll be honest, the show itself isn’t really anything special, it’s the theme song that sucks me in.  I’m beginning to see a theme, aren’t you?  Anyway, Drake plays a mean guitar and it was a pleasure to see Josh outgrow the chubby, goofy kid role.  But mostly I like the song.  It also gave the world Miranda Cosgrove, who moved on to iCarly and introduced the novel concept of spaghetti tacos.  Not bad for one silly sitcom.

SpongeBob Squarepants 

 I’m going to tell you a secret.  I love SpongeBob so much that I have him tattooed on me.  I still have SpongeBob DVDs that I refuse to part with.  That quirky little kitchen sponge who lives in a pineapple under the sea has captured my heart like no other. (All the other sponges living in pineapples under the sea totally suck.)  He’s so innocent and full of joy – it’s just so endearing.  He’s incredibly loyal to everyone from his dumb friend, his mean neighbor and his greedy boss.  Couldn’t we all learn a lesson in appreciation from SpongeBob? Also, you guessed it, I like the songs.  F is for friends who do stuff together, U is for you and me, N is for anytime and anywhere at all down here in the deep blue sea! 

Maybe I’m nostalgic for my children’s preschool days, but I don’t think that’s it.  These shows are better in retrospect, methinks, and much easier to enjoy when you don’t have to chase an insane toddler with a leaky diaper.  I just like them.  I do mostly enjoy adult shows with developed characters and an intricate story line, but sometimes there’s something to be said for simplicity and fun, silly songs.  The bonus is that I get to embarrass my kids by singing these songs often and loudly.  And so the circle of life continues…

  1. May 21, 2012 at 10:45 pm

    Ohh I’ll take Imagination Movers over Wiggles. Lol.

    • May 22, 2012 at 5:56 am

      Oh, I have seen those guys on commercials. I think you’re right. 🙂

  2. May 24, 2012 at 12:30 pm

    I never really got into the wiggles, I am not sure why. Little Einsteins made me suicidal as well as Dora and freakin wonderpets. I LOVED Blues both with Steve and Joe, but, um, yeah, Steve. I still watch SpongeBob. ut my kids want to watch the horrible high-school-based Disney stuff now and it is breaking my brain worse than that darn map. (so hard to now use every swear-word!) They are too young for Dr Who, Merlin, BGT etc and too old for cartoons. I am so jealous that they watch your shows!

    • May 24, 2012 at 9:30 pm

      It’s glorious, indeed! Actually, my youngest still watches a lot of cartoons, but he keeps it to himself, like a good boy. 🙂 My kids always preferred Teen Nick over Disney……way better, although still pretty brain-breaking

  3. stayquirkymyfriends
    May 25, 2012 at 12:34 am

    We loved, loved, loved Bear in the Big Blue House around here…My kiddo likes Sponge Bob and iCarly (which my husband and I might secretly choose over our own shows sometimes, its really funny), but I miss the Bear. Luckily my kid still sings the songs (and repeats the lines to the shows) so he’s still with us in one way! Darn they get old fast. Enjoying your blog!

    • May 25, 2012 at 6:13 am

      It’s funny how attached we get to these shows, isn’t it? I’m with you on iCarly, we like that one, too. Thanks for reading!

  4. May 28, 2012 at 9:14 am

    steve rulez. and we love spongebob here too.
    i also love thomas the tank engine, the george carlin years.

    • May 28, 2012 at 9:20 am

      I think we missed Thomas, or my kids just weren’t interested or something. When M was little, he was mostly stuck watching what S wanted, since she was old enough to work the remote. 😉

      • June 4, 2012 at 9:38 am

        yeah, we have that issue too.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

