Home > Uncategorized > Winning for a Minute, then I Suck Again.

Winning for a Minute, then I Suck Again.

For the past couple of days, I’ve been feeling pretty darn good about my mothering skills.  One of the most basic and most difficult things that parents have to do is feed our children.  By feeding them, I mean making them eat what we want them to eat.  It’s been a good weekend for feeding around here.  Our weekend menu:

Saturday:

I’ve no idea what anyone ate for breakfast or lunch, since I was at work, so we’ll just assume that they ate something at some time roughly close to meal times.  No one was starving when I got home, so we’ll call it good.  For dinner we had grilled burgers and hot dogs.  A no brainer.  Naturally everyone was happy and ate away.

Sunday:

Somehow I missed breakfast.  Maybe they ate breakfast?  I dunno.  Everyone slept late, then sat around in their pj’s for a while.  Again, no one was in my face whining about pending starvation or wasting away on the floor in front of me, so I have to assume there was some cereal involved.  I do know that my oldest broke into MY brand new box of cashew bars and boldly ate TWO of them right in front of me.  Brat.  Lunch was leftovers and since we cooked far, far too much food the night before, everyone was still good.   Dinner was when things started getting really good.  We served tandoori style chicken, couscous and tossed salad.  Oh, and naan bread.  Can’t have tandoori without naan.  They ate like refugees.  Literally.  I had to tell them not to eat like refugees.  The important thing is that they were eating, and they were eating a somewhat exotic and healthy meal.  Winning!!!  There were no leftovers and I left the table with that happy, contented feeling of competence that couldn’t be dimmed even by sweeping couscous off the floor.

Monday:

Strawberry banana crepes for breakfast!  They’ve been asking for crepes for a while, but, blah, they’re kind of a pain, so we’ve been putting them off.  We had honey vanilla Neuchâtel filling with strawberries and bananas, finished with a honey drizzle.  Oh Lord, now I’m feeling downright fancy!!  My children are so sophisticated and we’re such great parents!  We must be doing things right!  Because, we all know, when your child is eating the way you want them to, that is the greatest of all parental accomplishments.  Don’t ask me to explain it, it just is.

Then comes lunchtime.

I have in my refrigerator right this moment, fried chicken, hamburgers, hot dogs, ham, chicken salad and tossed salad.  In the cabinet is peanut butter.  Guess what.  There’s nothing to eat for lunch.  These are the moments when I wonder why we bother.  Kids are fickle little beasts, especially when it comes to food.  It doesn’t do to get too excited when your children start eating the food you make, because they can sense it and pounce upon your weakness.  As soon as it starts going well, they’re going to start hating everything again. 

I was proud for a minute and now I’m paying for it.  Hubs invoked his mother’s wisdom, “If you can’t find anything to eat, then you must not be hungry.”  Makes sense to me, but not to the whining little beast who’s about to fall down from malnutrition because there’s nothing to eat.  I’ve learned my lesson.  When the moments of great eating happen, enjoy them and savor them, but do not allow your self-satisfaction to show.  Those contrary little guys in your house will make you suffer for it.

  1. Joy Chibuzo
    May 28, 2012 at 6:07 pm

    LOL

    • May 28, 2012 at 6:23 pm

      They keep me on my toes. 🙂 Thank you so much for reblogging – I am so honored!

      • May 28, 2012 at 8:39 pm

        You’re welcome. I loved it that much 🙂

  2. May 28, 2012 at 6:08 pm

    Reblogged this on the focused heart.

  3. May 29, 2012 at 10:49 am

    I would love to quit my job as food preparer in this house. They randomly stop liking sure-fire hits, and then there really is NOTHING to eat. Then, my husband comes home and has a bowl of cereal for dinner. *sigh*

    • May 29, 2012 at 12:05 pm

      I know right, it’s a thankless job. Makes me just want to give up and stock up on hot pockets.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

