Home > Uncategorized > My Bra is Inside Out and My Knives are Dull

My Bra is Inside Out and My Knives are Dull

There are unspoken rules of adult-dom.  There are things that you’re not “supposed” to do.  I know this.  I do some of them, anyway.

image via realsimple.com

Knives in the dishwasher.

You’re not supposed to put knives in the dishwasher.  I do it.  I do it because, in real life, I’m not about to run a sink of dishwater to wash a couple of knives.  I’m just not going to do it.  I know, I know…knives can get dulled knocking around in the dishwasher.  The dry cycle can leave unsightly spots.  It’s just not good for them.  Whatever.  I have nice knives, but they’re not high-dollar chef quality, and therefore I am willing to take the risk.  Like every other mom who has ever walked the planet, I have limited time, therefore I have to pick my battles.  Everydamnthing that will fit goes into the dishwasher.

Not my bras. via earth911.com

Bras in the dryer.

I don’t care for laundry related chores.  I do not buy clothes that require special care.  My dry clean only wardrobe is extremely limited.  The clothes that require ironing are few, and are pushed to the back of the closet, anyway.  There are about five items that I won’t put in the dryer and underwear does not make the cut.  I know, I know.  I can extend the life and quality of my unmentionables by eschewing the dryer.  I don’t care.  Look, my laundry room is not really a room.  We literally built walls around my washer and dryer just so I don’t have to look at them all the time.  I don’t have room to have bras hanging all hither and yon.  Fortunately, my lack of blessings in that department don’t require my intimates to be particularly supportive or heavy-duty, so they can afford to take a bit of abuse and neglect.

Not my skillet, either. webstaurantstore.com

Washing my Iron Skillet

My cast iron skillet is the stuff of a Southern girl’s dreams.  My mom found it for me at a flea market when we got married.  I promptly washed it, seasoned it and have treasured it ever since.  If you’re wrinkling your nose at used cookware, then you don’t understand about iron skillets.  They’re useless when they’re new.  They need to be old and well seasoned to be any good.  Here’s the thing about them, though.  You’re not supposed to actually wash them with soap and water.  If they’re good, they’re pretty much non-stick and you should be able to just wipe them out and you’re good to go.  Soap and water kills the surface that’s been developing for about fifty years.  That’s all fine and good until you, say, cook a giant batch of sausage gravy in it.  Or Hubs sears some steaks at roughly 9,000 degrees.  Sometimes soap and water is not optional.  So I do it, looking over my shoulder for Alton Brown the whole time.  In my defense, I never, ever soak it and I won’t touch it with an abrasive scrubber.  Hey, it’s better than getting Montreal Steak Seasoning in your sausage gravy.

There is no chance that I’ll be doing this.

Warm up and cool down.

Unless I’m in an exercise class or doing a DVD that requires it, I don’t warm up before exercises.  Let’s face it.  It’s boring and none of us have enough time for this nonsense.  Pulled muscles be damned, I’m jumping right in.  So far, so good…I find that my exercise related injuries are far more likely to be related to overestimating my skills than any amount of warm up.  Cool down is also something I tend to skip, but for slightly different reasons.  My workouts typically start to go downhill halfway through, so the entire second half is a gradual cool down, anyway.  Exercise for an extra five minutes at the end to “slow down”?  Unnecessary.

I find that a lot of my rule breaking is closely related to laziness saving time, but I’m okay with that.  We all have to pick our battles and if I’m willing to put my bra on the front lines, well then, so be it.  I don’t always bend the rules.  I keep my dairy products in the fridge and I always cook my pork well-done, no matter what anyone says.  I also cook my beef well-done, but that’s another story.  If nothing else, at least I know my knives still do their jobs.

  1. Chatter Master
    June 18, 2012 at 4:38 pm

    I didn’t know some of these things, so I’m just going to ignore some and pretend I didn’t read this. But I really enjoyed not learning them! 🙂

    • June 18, 2012 at 6:03 pm

      By all means, pretend I made them up. 🙂 I firmly believe in selective rule following.

      • Chatter Master
        June 18, 2012 at 6:38 pm

        I firmly believe you are brilliant AND in making up my own rules! 🙂

      • June 18, 2012 at 6:40 pm

        Aw, you are too sweet! 🙂

      • Chatter Master
        June 18, 2012 at 7:24 pm

        Thanks! 🙂

  2. June 19, 2012 at 10:22 pm

    My former roommate had a cast iron skillet, and she had this elaborate cleaning ritual after each use. I don’t remember what was involved, only that she filled it with an unidentifiable substance and let it sit inside the stove overnight. I just don’t get it. Does cast iron make the food taste better?

    • June 20, 2012 at 5:16 am

      I don’t know about making food taste better, so much, but they hold heat better than any other. Also, they can go from stove top to oven to grill…versatility!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

