Home > Uncategorized > Yellow is Not a Flavor

Yellow is Not a Flavor

I have a pet peeve.  I know this will come as a shock to most of you, because I’m usually so laid back and easy to get along with.  Ha.  Literally couldn’t type that with a straight face.  Okay, anyway, down to business.  I enjoy baking and decorating cakes.  It’s my hobby, not my career, but I’m still a cake girl.  I take cake seriously and personally.  Also, as in most other things I do, cake is going to happen my way.

He could have this…

Enter Hubs.  He isn’t a big fan of cake.  His favorite dessert is cheesecake, which, ironically, is the one baked good that I cannot master, despite years of trying.  My last cheesecake was delicious and creamy, but it turned brown in the oven.  WTH.  Anyway, the moral of the story is that he doesn’t often want cake.  He’s the most interesting cake eater in the world.  He doesn’t always eat cake, but when he does, he prefers yellow cake.

or he could have this…

Tell me please, what in the name of all that’s holy is yellow cake supposed to be?  There’s vanilla cake, there’s butter cake, there’s lemon cake, banana cake and pineapple cake.  All of those cakes taste like something.  Yellow cake tastes like its name.  Yellow.  There is no discernible flavor.  This is also an issue with white cake, but I’m going to let white cake slide, because the whole point of it is that it’s white.  It’s for those occasions when the color of your cake is more important that the flavor or the moistness that the egg yolks will give it.  Yellow cake has no excuse.  There are a million cakes that are yellow that also have flavors.  If you want a yellow cake, why not choose a flavor to go along with it?

he could even have this.

Now, what I have learned about yellow cake is this.  When most people say “yellow,” they don’t mean it.  They mean vanilla.  I make a mean french vanilla cake and if someone asks me to make a yellow cake, that’s what they get.  I don’t ask, I just do it.  Well, that’s not entirely true.  I usually make a comment, depending on how well I know the person, ranging from “You mean vanilla?” to “Yellow is not a freaking flavor.  What flavor do you want?”  However, when Hubs says yellow, he does mean it.  He means he wants a plain old boxed yellow cake with a can of chocolate frosting and woe betide me if I add so much as one drop of vanilla extract to the party.  It hurts me to make this.  I can make cakes that are far more delightful and way prettier than a 9×13 left in the pan with a can of chocolate-flavored preservatives dumped on top.  He’s my husband.  I love him!  I want to give him good things, not a hot cake mess.

But he wants this.

Okay, I realize that I’m dissing the very cake that most of us grew up on and that many of us make today, if the cakes that my neighbor shares with us are any indication.  If yellow-in-the-pan-canned-frosting cake is your bag, then there’s nothing wrong with that.  It is not mine.  If I’m going to make a cake, I want to make it special.  Also, I’m a huge cake snob.  I recognize that.  But I don’t have so very many special skills that I can ignore them and not use them.  I can make cake and frosting.  I want to do that.  I want to give my husband a delicious, moist, rich piece of artwork.  Rejected.  He just wants a regular cake.  My brain doesn’t understand “regular” cake.

Thank goodness my daughter learned to make brownies.

 

  1. June 24, 2012 at 9:30 am

    I guess some people just have simple tastes! For example, out of all the breakfasts in the world, my absolute favourite above all others is a McDonalds Bacon ‘n Egg McMuffin. There’s no rhyme or reason, it’s just how I am 🙂 Although non-yellow cakes are super delicious, so I think your husband should try broadening his horizons a bit!

    • June 24, 2012 at 9:35 am

      He does enjoy some more exotic flavors from time to time. It must be a comfort food thing, but I object on general cake principle. 😉 I get it, though. For me, it’s hard to beat a plain old grilled cheese sandwich with processed american cheese.

  2. Saint Stay At Home
    June 24, 2012 at 3:34 pm

    The force is strong with you and your impressive baking power. Those are amazing designs.

    • June 24, 2012 at 7:52 pm

      Too kind, you are. 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

