Home > Uncategorized > If I Had a Head Like That…

If I Had a Head Like That…

My first grade teacher told my parents I would end up with an ulcer if I didn’t lighten up.  She was wrong.  I don’t have an ulcer.  I made it through childhood and most of adolescence with no health issues.  About the time I started applying to colleges and prepping for “real life,” the headache hit me.  I, who had never experienced anything worse than the occasional brain freeze, fell victim to the mother of all headaches.  It lasted more than a month with not one second of relief.  I saw doctor after doctor, eliminated all  manner of ailments, from a sinus problem to a brain tumor.  The diagnosis?  Tension headache.

That gem of a headache opened the floodgate.  Since then, I’ve been highly susceptible to tension headaches and migraines.  Sometimes I’m quite sure that I’m having a stroke, because random parts of my body go numb right before the pain hits.  I’ve spent far too much of my life whimpering in a dark room, wishing I could suspend my head in mid-air, because even touching a pillow hurts.  All you headache sufferers out there know what I’m talking about, and surely know it all too well.

As I’ve gotten older, I’ve gotten better at managing my stress levels, and more responsible about giving my body what it needs.  Lots of water, plenty of rest, regular exercise…you know.  All that boring stuff.  It helps.  I don’t get headaches nearly as often as I used to.  Maybe because I’m treating myself better, or maybe just because I’m in a calmer stage of life.  Or possibly I have unwittingly done something that pleases the Headache Gods.  Still, I do sometimes get headaches and they always take me by surprise.  You might think I would kind of expect them by now, but no…ever the optimist, I seem to believe, on some level, that every headache is the last one.

Anyway, I am right at this moment suffering.  Last night, shortly before bed, I got hit with a monster out of the clear blue.  I don’t like taking medicine, so I just went to bed with the hopes that I’d sleep it off.  No dice.  I still have the little bastard.  And I still haven’t taken any meds.  This is something I can’t explain about myself.  True, over the counter meds often don’t work on my headaches.  My monumental dislike of doctors prevents me from getting any real meds.  And so I suffer, choosing to stare at a computer screen, which everyone knows is awesome when your head hurts and your vision is blurred.  I am drinking lots and lots of coffee, since caffeine usually helps a little.  Also because I like to drink lots of coffee.

However, the sleep didn’t help, the coffee didn’t help, and, oddly enough, staring at the computer screen didn’t help.  I’m going to have to take something and just hope it works.  That pisses me off.  It feels like the headache won.  I know that’s absurd, but it is what it is.  I’ve learned to live around my damage.  So I’m going to go find some Excedrin, drink a big old bottle of water and maybe eat a little breakfast.  I will surrender this battle, but not the war.

  1. Chatter Master
    June 25, 2012 at 12:18 pm

    I hope it goes away! 😦

    • June 25, 2012 at 12:25 pm

      Thank you. It probably will, if I ever get around to taking that Excedrin. 😉

  2. Beth
    June 25, 2012 at 8:46 pm

    I have a friend that has had 2 or 3 migraines a month on average for the past decade. A few months ago she started going to a chiropractor in Danville and she hasn’t had one since (knock on wood). He is a naturally healing type and is VERY against modern medicine.

    • June 25, 2012 at 8:49 pm

      2 or 3 a MONTH?! For TEN years?!!! Oh my Lord, I never would have lasted through that decade. Never thought about the chiropractor, though. Something to keep in mind in case mine are making a comeback. (please no, please no…)

  3. June 30, 2012 at 9:59 am

    Hope you are feeling better! My grandmother suffered for years with migraines. No fun at all! She grew out of it when she got older. Hope you do too!

    • July 1, 2012 at 12:45 pm

      Thanks, I am all better now. I suspect that I am outgrowing them. At least there’s one benefit to aging. 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

