Home > Uncategorized > This One Time, I Did Stuff Right

This One Time, I Did Stuff Right

I had a kind of crappy week that made me question myself on a lot of different levels.  To combat it, I have decided to celebrate some of the major accomplishments in my life.  I think we all need to do this from time to time.  We tend to get so caught up in the day-to-day and don’t realize that some of the things we do are really astonishing.  Now, I don’t want anyone to feel bad about themselves reading about my amazing life here, so please feel free to add your accomplishments in the comments section.

  • One time I kicked my husband in the head.  It was an accident, but the point is, he is tall and we were both standing.  Yay, flexibility.  (No husbands were harmed in this incident.)
  • I wear three-inch heels for 11 hours four days a week.  I have always understood the importance of being taller than everyone else.
  • I can remember to put my kids lunch drinks in the fridge at night so they will have a cold beverage the following day.  I successfully remember to do this at least three out of five days.
  • I have extra toothbrushes in my linen closet.  If a houseguest needs a toothbrush, I’ve got you covered.  You’re welcome.
  • I have gum and I will share it with you.  It’s the kind with the goo in the center, too.
  • I have such incredible self-control that I have never, not even once, punched anyone in the throat.
  • I have been wearing a string bracelet that my daughter made me for well over a year, because it makes her smile when she sees it.  Also because it will not come off.
  • One time, I bought an entire week’s groceries without forgetting anything.  I mean, not this week, but one time I did it.
  • I remembered to check the air pressure in my leaky tire before it was 100% flat.  And by “check the air pressure,” I mean, “notice it was very low and make an emergency call to my dad.”
  • I bought a new box of band-aids BEFORE the old box was empty.

What?  You say these aren’t stunning accomplishments?  Well, if you believe that, then you are living a charmed life, my friend (or possibly you just really have your ducks in a row, bravo).  I forget enough things, screw up enough others and make enough mistakes in life to appreciate every little thing that I get right.  Because I do get a lot right, it’s just the little stuff.  Unless you’re bleeding and need a band-aid, or just ate onions and need some gum, and then I’ll just bet you’ll think I’m awesome, too.

 

  1. July 14, 2012 at 10:36 am

    Hey, I’ve never punched anyone in the throat either! It actually seems like it would be a really hard thing to do. The heels thing is pretty impressive, I will say. I’m a flats kind of girl.

    • July 14, 2012 at 10:57 am

      You’re completely correct, I probably should have said that I’ve never attempted to punch anyone in the throat, because I’m sure I would never be successful at it. One time, there was a guy who really need to be slapped, so I went for it. Totally missed. It was sad. Thank you for being impressed with my shoes…the other three days a week, I’m strictly a running shoes/flip flops girl. It’s a delicate balance I have worked out with my poor feet.

  2. Chatter Master
    July 14, 2012 at 3:12 pm

    Hahahahahahahaha! I thoroughly enjoyed, and was impressed, by this. Great job on these accomplishments. And, I agree with you, they ARE.

    • July 15, 2012 at 9:40 am

      Thanks for the props…if we don’t recognize our own band-aid buying prowess, who will? 🙂

      • Chatter Master
        July 15, 2012 at 9:46 am

        Exactly!!!! How many times have we looked high and low for just ONE more bandaid! Kudos I say!

  3. July 15, 2012 at 10:35 am

    I’ve never kicked anyone in the head, although my friend did once kick me in the face with a soccer ball when she was standing a meter away from me. I was very impressed by her ability to get the ball that high in the air that fast, in such a short distance. And then I was very angry, because it hurts a lot when someone kicks you in the face with a soccer ball.

    • July 15, 2012 at 10:38 am

      Ouch! That would have been a fantastic time to kick someone in the head. Revenge. 🙂 I have to admit that there was no real power behind it, and, fortunately I was barefoot. It’s nice to know I can do it, though, just in case…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

