Home > Uncategorized > Beware the Typos

Beware the Typos

I’m sure you all know by now that I am bothered by grammatical errors.  I am also bothered by typos.  I am guilty of a great number of typos because I’m always in a hurry and I don’t take nearly enough time to proofread.  However, what I’m typing in my daily life isn’t all that important.  Work emails?  Sure, I’ll have the occasional typo, but in a setting in which I can’t even comprehend half of the emails I receive, I don’t worry too much about it.  This blog?  Well, sooner or later I’ll catch it and correct it, and then I can pretend that no one ever saw it.  Texts, Facebook status updates, grocery lists…well, I was serious when I said I’m not a writer.  The things I write are very much on the small scale.  It’s not like I’m creating websites or advertising.

Which brings me to my point.  Have you ever noticed just how many people don’t know or don’t seem to care that their advertising is a hot mess?  I saw business cards recently for a small business which claimed, “No Job To Small.”  Okay, well, I wasn’t going to hire you to write a dissertation, but now I won’t hire you to clean my gutters, either.  This is just so unacceptable.  Even the tiniest error causes me to completely shut down.  This is business.  You are required to be professional.  If you can’t write, can’t spell, can’t decipher homophones and can’t proofread, then, please, find someone to do it for you.  It shows a carelessness and a sloppiness.  It makes me question every tiny little thing about you and completely breaks my trust in you.

I know every person has their own skill set.  I could not fix a broken toilet or change the oil in my car if you held a gun to my head.  I don’t expect my plumber or my mechanic to be writing blog posts for fun. (Although I’m positive that some of them do, but that’s neither here nor there.)  There is just nothing you can do to convince me that, no matter what your service or product is, you can’t put together a grammatically correct and typo-free advertisement for your business.  Wouldn’t you show it to everyone you know, before committing, to get approval?  Wouldn’t you take a few extra minutes checking everything before spending your hard-earned cash on something that makes you look incompetent?

Although this is not exactly advertisement, my son pointed out this sign in our local grocery store a couple of days ago.  It’s enough to make me want to take a red sharpie with me the next time I go shopping.  It has also now convinced me that my ten-year-old kid is smarter than whoever is running the grocery store.  (If you’re wondering what my ten-year-old kid was doing on the beer aisle, let me reassure you slightly.  It’s across from the frozen pizza.)

Photos like these remind me how truly awful my camera phone is.

I know this.  Companies who allow these mistakes to slide lose business.  They lose credibility.  I do not want to do business with anyone who doesn’t care enough to check for typos, or worse, doesn’t know it’s wrong.  Pay attention, people!  These things matter.  I suggest adopting a new slogan.  “No Typo To Small.”

as a side note, I caution anyone against relying on spell check, since spell check, just moments ago, suggested that I change “aisle” to “I’ll”.  What the…

  1. July 15, 2012 at 2:14 pm

    Typos drive me crazy. Except for when it’s on Asian food menus – then I usually giggle instead of getting incensed. Here’s some awesome Engrish typos for you: http://www.engrish.com/

    • July 15, 2012 at 2:32 pm

      Oh, I love it!! Thank you! Now I can snicker over my computer ALL DAY!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

