Home > Uncategorized > Flawed Data

Flawed Data

If you’re wondering why I’m so chock full of blog posts today, well, studies show that my house is filthy and as soon as I pry myself off the couch, I’m going to have to clean it.

I just saw a commercial about home ownership.  It was one of those vague realtor commercials.  I’m not totally sure what the advertisement was for, other than buying houses in general.  I do know that they claim that studies show that parents who own their home have children with higher self-esteem and higher test scores.  Really?  I mean, really?  How many kids actually know if their parents are renting or buying the house.  Kids don’t know about this stuff and, as long as they have a place to call home, I’m pretty darn sure they don’t care.  Could there be something skewing that data?  Could it be that stable families with access to many resources for their children are more likely to own their home?  (I’m not dissing renters.  I’m NOT.  I love renters.  I used to be a renter.  I’m just exploring ideas.)  Could it be that the study was maybe conducted in an area with few rental properties?  It could be anything.  Just because you say a study proved it, doesn’t mean I’m buying it.  I’ll tell you what home ownership means to me.  It means I have to fix my own damn furnace if it breaks.  (Not dissing owners either, but let’s be realistic here.)

Years ago, I read something about a study that shows that children who use night lights are more likely to have poor vision.  Or, maybe, children who have poor vision are more likely to be afraid of the dark, since they can’t see if that’s a shirt on the chair or a monster in the corner.  There are two sides to every story and countless viewpoints to every study.  I’m sure you all know about the studies about the “family table.”  Families who sit down together at dinner have more successful children, or some such.  Or, families who sit down at the table together are fortunate enough to have the time, resources and schedules to spend that meal together.  Does that make children who eat a sandwich with Mom and Dad on the way to baseball practice less successful?  I don’t buy it, and neither should you.

I’m sick of the studies, aren’t you?  If you disagree, then I’ll remind you that studies show that people who enjoyed this blog post usually send me cash.

  1. July 18, 2012 at 11:24 am

    Your day of posts are a riot! Must have been fun to sit there and writing all day … and on a Sunday … sigh – I’m totally jealous (and almost posted a typo just to get you going again 🙂 )

    • July 18, 2012 at 8:51 pm

      Thanks, yes, it was a completely delightful day, even though I did eventually get up and clean the house. Thanks for not getting me started again with the typos, my floors really needed to be mopped. 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

