Home > Uncategorized > Oh No, He Didn’t.

Oh No, He Didn’t.

I don’t write about politics.  It’s just not a pot I want to stir.   I’m a non-confrontational gal, to each their own, and all that jazz.  Therefore, I am not going to write a post about President Obama’s recent speech in Roanoke, VA on July 13, wherein he (seemingly?  allegedly? really and truly?) said the following.

“If you’ve got a business — you didn’t build that. Somebody else made that happen.”

I’m not going to place it into context, which makes it only a smidge less offensive.  I’m not going to express my outrage on behalf of family members who are busting ass to run successful small businesses.  I’m not going to comment on the fact that I’m apparently ungrateful for the bridge I take on my way to work.  Without that bridge, I wouldn’t be employed by a company which was started fifty-plus years ago with one man who had one truck and is today a worldwide, well-respected company.  I won’t rant and rave about the hard-working people who start with nothing, with no help, no handouts and no complaints and come out on the other side successful and (rightly) proud.  I’m not going to mourn the slow death of the great American dream.

I’m not going to do any of that.  I’m going to be bigger than that.  But, since we all enjoy a good giggle, and since I’m sure that none of us take ourselves too seriously here, I’m going to share with you some of the fun memes I’ve seen on the subject.  Here are my favorites.  Many thanks to knowyourmeme.com for having such a delightful collection from which I could choose.  If you’re tempted to think I’m not an Obama supporter, ah well, you caught me.  However, that’s not what this is about.  If I didn’t write about the stupid things other people say and/or do, then I’d never write about anything but myself, and that gets boring.  So, there’s no need for the secret service to start watching me and there’s no need for Obama fans to get angry.  We’re just having fun here, y’all.  And now, please enjoy the clever things that other people posted on the internet.

  1. Barb Strimple
    July 18, 2012 at 10:07 pm

    Your best yet kiddo!!!!

  2. July 19, 2012 at 1:41 am

    Haha great political cartoons!

    • July 19, 2012 at 5:48 am

      Thanks, I take full credit for googling them 😉 Thanks for reading.

  3. July 19, 2012 at 2:03 am

    Shel, i heart you. It is so nice to see someone not taking themselves too seriously. You made a political post funny. We need more people like you. I used to be a tree-hugging-hippy-liberal. Then I moved to the UK. I wish more people took things with the same level of humour that you do! x

    • July 19, 2012 at 5:53 am

      Thank you, Starle! Once upon a time, I was an angry young liberal, then I started to realize how much more fun life would be if everyone weren’t so damn earnest. 🙂 I’m happy I can make you smile. By the way, I don’t mean to alarm you, but it seems that the U.K. is sneaking an extra “u” into your “humor.” Sneaky Queen’s English…(ha, I’m cracking myself up)

  4. July 20, 2012 at 9:23 pm

    I love this and sharing it with all my facebook friends.

    • July 21, 2012 at 10:04 am

      Thank you! And the warmest of welcomes to your friends! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

