Home > Uncategorized > Finally. The Food Post.

Finally. The Food Post.

Hubs has been on my case since I wrote my first blog post to become a food blogger.  Well, there are a few reasons that I’m not going to do this.

  1. I am not a foodie in the sense that I like to eat adventurous things.  I’m actually very picky.  I cook so that no one can sneak a bell pepper into my food.
  2. I live in a tiny little town with two decent restaurants and I rarely travel.  So, really, what am I going to talk about?
  3. I am incapable of coloring inside the lines.  That’s why this blog has no structure.  I must write about whatever is on my mind.  I can’t do topics.
  4. Food does not do as many ridiculous things as I do, or my children do, so again.  What am I going to talk about?

So, I stand my ground.  I am not entering a brave new world of food blogging.  However, my son paid me (and Hubs.  sigh. I’ll share credit) the nicest compliment at dinner tonight.  When we served his dinner, he said, and I quote:

“You know, this appearance is really restaurant quality.  The taste is, too.  I bet I could go to any restaurant and never find this dish any better than this.  Most of your food is better than I could get in a restaurant.”

Okay, yes, sometimes he speaks as if he’s a judge on Chopped.  Having a mother addicted to Food Network does have its side effects.  However, we did not serve restaurant quality food tonight.  What we served was a thrown-together, made-up tamale casserole that we came up with after we discovered that we adore tamales, but they’re really way too much trouble to actually make.  And after we discovered how much trouble they were to make, we still had the better part of a five-pound bag of Masa Harina.  But, hey, if my kid loves this stuff, maybe your kid (or you!) will like it, too.  And maybe you’ll appreciate my recipe so much that you’ll comment with some of your favorite dinner recipes, because I am seriously in a dinner rut and I need all the help I can get.

I bet these took about thirty-two hours to make. via foodnetwork.com, naturally

So here’s our tamale casserole recipe, in the best way that I can offer a recipe.  There will be almost no measurements.  I am sorry, but I measure almost nothing.  That takes all the adventure out of it.

Crust: (here are the measurements)

4 cups Instant Masa Harina

2/3 cup vegetable shortening, corn oil or lard

2-4 cups of chicken broth

3 tsp Salt

1 tsp Granulated garlic

Mix all dry ingredients well.  Add oil/shortening until well combined. (I usually melt the shortening to make this easier.)  Add broth a little at a time, until the mixture is about the texture of cookie dough.  It should form a ball.

Filling

We generally use either ground beef or pulled beef.  For pulled beef: slow simmer a roast in tomato sauce and enchilada sauce until tender.  Pull beef and place back in the cooking liquid.  Simmer to reduce until it is slightly thickened.  For ground beef, brown beef, drain, then add one large can of enchilada sauce.  For either meat:  season well with salt, pepper, cumin, chili powder, garlic, or whatever mexican kind of seasonings you prefer.

In a separate pan, saute frozen corn until the corn gets a little color.  Add chopped scallions (a lot of them) and continue to cook until it smells really, really delicious.

In a 9×13 baking dish, press a thin layer of dough on the bottom, bringing up the sides a little.  Place a layer of black beans (if desired), a layer of meat, a layer of corn and scallions.  Top with shredded cheddar cheese.  Flatten thin disks of dough and place on the top of casserole to completely cover the filling.  Bake at 400 degrees for about 30 minutes.  Serve with hot sauce and sour cream, if desired.

 
See, this is another reason I can’t write about food.  I am completely incapable of writing a coherent recipe.  I don’t even have an ingredient list or anything.  It’s pathetic.  But I did try.  Nearly everything we cook is this kind of slapdash recipe.  It’s one of the reasons Hubs and I have to cook together.  We need each other to try to remember how we made that thing last time.  And, yes, I recognize that my casserole bears only a passing resemblance to a tamale.  Whatever.  We have to call it something.  Enjoy!

  1. Saint Stay At Home
    August 7, 2012 at 8:54 pm

    Reason #1. So no one can sneak a bell pepper in your food?! Adorable.

    • August 7, 2012 at 9:10 pm

      It’s simply shocking how often that happens. 😉 Thanks for reading!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

