Home > Uncategorized > Commercials that I Don’t Quite Love

Commercials that I Don’t Quite Love

I love commercials.  For instance, the Dos Equis guy?  I adore him.  I want to hang out and drink beer with him, assuming, of course, that I can catch him on one of those days that he does drink beer.  Cause, you know, he doesn’t always drink beer.  I have been known to race to the TV if I heard a State Farm discount double check commercial on.  (This might have something to do with my Packer love, but whatever.)  I still remember fondly the commercial with the tiny Darth Vader.  You know, this one.

Yeah, me too.
(okay I know it’s unrelated and off topic. I’m a sucker for memes.)
via paulkatcher.tumblr.com

There are, however, some commercials that I kind of like but find slightly disturbing, for one reason or another.

Topping the list is the Rocket Man commercial.  I know people don’t know the words to this song.  I suspect that this song was written with the purpose of tricking people into misheard lyrics.  God bless William Shatner for teaching me the words.  I’m not bothered by all the alternate lyrics in the commercial, I think they’re great.  What bothers me is the very end of the commercial, with the couple in the car.  Dude says, “I told you it wasn’t provolone.”  Okay, maybe he did, but he clearly didn’t tell her what the correct words were.  Why would he hold out on her like that?  That’s not nice.  Don’t we all depend on our spouse, boyfriend/girlfriend, significant other to keep us from making fools of ourselves?  I don’t like this guy.

We all know the cars.com commercial with the weird and creepy head of confidence that has sprung out of some poor fellow’s back.  Oh, I like the song.  I am, in fact, wont to walk around the house singing under my breath, “hey baby, I want that car, hey baby I really want that car.”  What is bizarre about this commercial is, of course, the weird and creepy head that has sprung out of this poor fellow’s back!  If this is what happens when you go to cars.com, then, no, thank you.  As much as I might want the best deal on a new car, I want a singing deformity even less.

Have you seen the commercial for The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas?  Check it out here.  I can appreciate any Queen reference, but seriously.  What is this?  Is this the kind of thing that often occurs there?  I don’t find that appealing.  I am as easily entertained as anyone else, but I can’t see myself vacationing in a place where everyone is either secretly attending rehearsals for a pool side confrontation or possibly is on acid.  That is not the right amount of “wrong.”  The right amount of “wrong” is much, much less than this.

I know, I’m missing the point.  I often do that.  I also know there’s an argument that these are good commercials because they’ve made me remember them.  Um…not really.  There are actually a lot more that I’d like to include, but I can’t, because I remember the oddness, but don’t remember the product that was being advertised.  That Cosmopolitan commercial?  I got lucky that I saw it a minute ago and therefore discovered what it was about.  I don’t think I’m more likely to use the products or services because of these commercials.  On the other hand, though, if the goal was to get me to look at whomever in the room and say, “What the hell was that?!!”, then it’s a win.  Kudos.

  1. January 27, 2013 at 9:59 am

    I believe it’s a Target commercial that I’m referring to here. It’s designed to be cute, but I think it’s sexist and sets a poor example to children. The boy is in school (maybe 3rd grade) and trying to impress his young, pretty teacher and some girls with gifts. But the way the camera is angled, he is clearly checking out his teacher’s ass. And the commercial implies that he is cool.

    • January 27, 2013 at 10:44 am

      Ugh. I don’t know that one but it sounds awful. Way to set an example, society.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

