Home > Uncategorized > Seriously? It’s the Second Day of School!

Seriously? It’s the Second Day of School!

Just the other day I laid forth some hopes and expectations I have for this school year.  So far, so good.  The kids seem to have really good, engaging teachers.  I have not had to be involved in any projects thus far.   Their classes seem like they’ll be challenging.  And a teacher promptly responded to my email to answer my question about a ridiculous rule.

So why am I writing about school again?  Because a teacher promptly answered my email to answer my question about a ridiculous rule.  It’s the second day of school, y’all.  Why is this starting already?  I need a good couple of months to establish myself as a helpful and concerned parent before I set the crazy loose.  This is not. cool.

Here’s the deal.  My son’s grade changes classes throughout the day as a group.  They go to homeroom and have English.  Then they march across the hall for Reading, the off to Science and so on.  The problem?  They’re required to leave their backpacks, and therefore all their personal belongings, in the homeroom classroom while they’re gone.  And while other classes stream in and out of that classroom.  There are no lockers.  There are hooks on the wall.  There are rooms full of wily ten-year-olds who might just decide to see what’s in this backpack here.  Oh, we’ve been in this place before.  I’ve already won this battle.  Five years ago my daughter had an MP3 player stolen out of her backpack in this exact scenario.  A friendly conversation with the principal resulted in me getting my way a re-evaluation of this policy.  So now why do I have to do this again?!

I know that my kids shouldn’t have a bunch of personal junk in their backpacks.  I also know that they don’t come straight home after school, so anything they’re going to need after school needs to also be with them at school.  I don’t think it’s unreasonable for me to expect that I can put their crap in their backpacks and have it remain in their possession throughout the day.  I don’t think I should have to think about who might be rifling through their stuff.  I was informed that this practice saves time when the kids change classes.  Yeah, I can see that.  It doesn’t change the very high level of outrage discomfort I have with the practice.  So, I asked politely and I still can’t get no satisfaction. (that’s not a double negative. It’s a hat-tip to the Stones.)  Alrighty.  On to step two.  Step two is still in development, pending a solution for keeping the crazy reined in.

But wait, there’s more.  That’s just the elementary school!  Wait til you hear what the middle school has cooked up!

The kids are not allowed to take backpacks to class.  They have to cram them in their lockers and carry all their crap around all day.  You have a class in the basement followed by a class at the other end of school, with no time to dash up to your second-floor locker?  Too bad, so sad.  In addition, they’re not allowed to go to their lockers in the mornings or in the afternoons.  They are supposed to go on locker break before their last class and get everything they need for last period, homework and first period the next day and haul it all around.  I assume they’re allowed to take their backpacks to last class?  I don’t know.  Nothing about this jacked up scenario makes a lick of sense to me.  My kid’s backpack weighs roughly five hundred thirty pounds and she doesn’t even have homework tonight.  I don’t even know how to approach this without dropping a WTF on someone.  This will change, that’s all I know.  And if my kid gets a discipline slip for the egregious crime of taking her backpack to class?  Hell hath no fury, my friends.

My kids’ schools are Dora’s private hell.
courtesy of hellokids.com

So it’s the Year of the Backpack.  I will be waging the backpack war on two fronts and as God is my witness, I will not back down.  I might not win, but I am perfectly prepared to never, ever, ever shut up about it.

  1. August 22, 2012 at 12:46 am

    I can’t even think of a single reason for the middle schoolers to not carry their backpacks. Please update this, I am super curious!

    • August 22, 2012 at 9:19 pm

      I completely agree…I will be sure to post an update as soon as both schools stop dodging me.

  2. Joelle B.
    August 22, 2012 at 11:17 am

    I live in central/southern California….about 3-4 hours north of LA. Even in kindergarten, the kids are not allowed to bring their backpack inside the classroom. They all have to hang them outside their class on hooks. It makes no sense to me…..when I was a kid, we would put our backpacks on the back of our chairs so we could easily get to our pencils and eraser and stuff. Last year when my daughter was in 1st grade, they could at least put their lunchboxes in the class so their food was not sitting out in the sun….now in her 2nd grade class, she cannot even do that. Her first day, even with 2 frozen ice packs in it, by lunchtime, her cold food items like her turkey sandwich and string cheese, we no good by lunch time. I don’t understand it and cannot get a straight answer from any of the school staff. I don’t get the point of not letting their backpack be inside the classroom, my daughter got something stolen out of gets last year…and now they changed the school to K-5 instead of K-2. Older kids…even more of a chance of things getting stolen. I will get to the bottom of it and complain. This does not seem right or make sense to me.

    • August 22, 2012 at 9:27 pm

      This is insanity!! Are schools so wrapped up in the rules that they can’t see what’s best for the students?! Fight the good fight! This kind of thing is outrageous.

  3. January 27, 2013 at 9:55 am

    Those rules are ridiculous and designed to set kids up for failure and a long life of chiropractic care.

    • January 27, 2013 at 9:56 am

      I think our schools employ people to make up rules that annoy me.

  1. September 3, 2012 at 2:25 pm

Leave a Reply

