Home > Uncategorized > Drinking All the Coffee

Drinking All the Coffee

Glorious Sunday morning.  So I had high hopes of sleeping late this morning, but that damn feeding tube machine thing started beeping for a refill at 6am.  Since Hubs handled the middle of the night refill, I dragged ass out of bed after he elbowed me jumped up to take care of it immediately.  By the time I refilled the bag, disconnected, primed the pump, reconnected and got the whole she-bang going again, I was awake.  I cannot tell you how grateful I am for this feeding tube set-up, which is providing my kid her nutrition while she heals, making her feel better and letting us stay at home to do it, but would it have killed them to make a bag would hold enough Ensure to last through the night?  I am too old to be doing these nighttime feedings.  This is why I had my children as a young woman, so as I hit the high side of my thirties, I could properly rest my tired old bones.

But anyway, that’s not what I meant to talk about.  The result of the early-ish morning refill is that I am awake earlier than I intended to be today.  I intended to be indulgent and lazy and stay in bed until at least 7:30.  But, alas, my body doesn’t understand that, even though we get up pre-sunrise every other day of the week, we are allowed to sleep on Sundays.  Ah well, nothing to do but make the best of it.  The best of it being drinking all the coffee and catching up on Facebook and blogging.

Everyone here is still asleep, and I like it that way.  I suspect that Hubs didn’t mean to sleep this late, but I’m tiptoeing around so he doesn’t get up yet.  I have claimed his chair for the morning and have already drunk half a pot of coffee, so it’s really in my best interest if he stays where he is, at least for a little bit.  What I have going on right now isn’t much, but it’s going to be the only time I have for myself, just for me, all week.  Every other moment, someone is going to need something, or expect something, or talk to me.  I just need a minute, just for me.  To do a few things at my own pace, to think at my own pace and to not listen to anything.  Oh, and to turn on old Roseanne reruns without anyone griping about it.

This is what my Sunday morning has been.

  • I paid a few bills.
  • Then analyzed my DirecTV plan and tried to think of ten people I can refer to reduce my bill.
  • I thought of zero people I can refer to DirecTV.
  • I put a load of laundry in the washer.
  • I hunted up my son’s karate uniform to wash and found it clean and folded, leading me to believe that his claim of participating in class Friday was untrue.
  • Made a note to myself to discuss the dire consequences of lying to your mother with Sonny Jim.
  • I shamelessly drank cup after cup of coffee, deciding that the last one up can make more if he wants it.  You snooze, you lose.
  • I have created a mental to-do list for the day, including cleaning many neglected things to ready our house for Thanksgiving guests.
  • I am working on creative ways to introduce said to-do list to Hubs, thereby crushing his dreams of a quiet Sunday.
  • I tried to think of how much I’m willing to pay my kids to do my grunt work for me.
  • I watched the sunrise.  I mean, not literally, but I did notice when it got light outside.
  • I determined that it is too early to start the chicken stock for dinner.
  • It’s also too early to go out to do yard work.
  • It’s actually to early to do much other than sit here and read and write blogs.  Don’t want to wake the family.  I’m considerate like that.

So, you see, it’s been a delightfully quiet Sunday morning.  I haven’t done much, but I’ve done enough to honestly make the claim to Hubs that I’ve been “doing stuff” all morning.  He almost never asks for a definition of “stuff.”  Just one of the many reasons I love the man.  To be honest, he doesn’t care if I’ve been doing stuff or not, but it makes me feel better to say it.  But whether I’ve had a productive morning or not, I still feel refreshed.  We’ve had an incredibly stressful couple of months, in which I feel like someone is pulling or tugging on me, needing something, every moment of every day.  Having a minute to determine, once again, that I can’t easily reduce my DirecTV bill?  Priceless.

  1. November 11, 2012 at 11:25 am

    I can totally relate to this, as I am also enjoying the precious few moments of peace and quiet I’m going to have for a long time. In some ways, I enjoy being busy because it gives a lot of value to my quiet mornings. I still wish I had a few more of them though!

    • November 11, 2012 at 1:31 pm

      It’s hard to be bitter about waking up early when the gift is a bit of calm alone time. I sometimes set my alarm, just so I can have that time. Thanks for reading!

  2. Mart
    November 11, 2012 at 1:18 pm

    🙂 morning sunshine 🙂 great read as always!!

    • November 11, 2012 at 1:31 pm

      Thanks 😀

  3. November 14, 2012 at 9:11 pm

    I really enjoy your blog!
    I nominated you for a Liebster Award

    • November 15, 2012 at 6:53 pm

      Thank you so very much! I am honored!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

