Home > Uncategorized > The Grand Return of Normal

The Grand Return of Normal

Some of you may have noticed (please, someone have noticed), that I’ve been rather absent in recent months.  I keep thinking of things I want to write, then I get busy with something else, well, whatever.  Things have been hectic and I’ve been out of my normal routine.  When I don’t have my routine, I tend to get a whole lot of nothing done.

Now, things are settling back to normal with the family and I am faced with an uncomfortable situation.  I’m ready and able to commit time to my writing again, but I’m intimidated.  Surely, after so long, I’d better come back with a really, really good post.  And all those good ideas I had while I was all aflutter with other stuff?  They’re gone or no longer relevant.  I mean, I had a ton of clever things to say about our annual Christmas decoration bruhaha, but who wants to read that in January?  It’s so last month!

So this post is just breaking the proverbial ice.  When my daughter tells me that she doesn’t know what to draw, I tell her to just sit down and start drawing whatever comes to mind.  I’m taking my own advice with my writing.

Perhaps you’re wondering what has kept me away.  Well, primarily my daughter’s illness, which I’ve mentioned on more than one occasion.  I’m happy to report that she is much improved and back at school.  She’s eating huge quantities of pasta and jello and not much else, but as long as she’s not puking, I’m having a hard time caring a whole lot about nutritional value and whatnot.  That’s what vitamins are for.

Behold!

Behold!

Also, we had a massive Christmas light display this year.  During the installation of this, I discovered that a crippling fear of heights is not the kind of thing that you can overcome just because you want a Santa Claus on the roof.  Also, it is very difficult to help install a Santa on your roof when you are crouched in the corner talking earnestly to yourself about the meaning of fear.

We narrowly avoided a house fire. (The official report, issued by my father and my husband, is that this issue had nothing whatsoever to do with Christmas lights. Fo’ real)  On one of the usual nights when I found myself exhausted at 8pm, I went to bed early.  Don’t judge, just let me get on with the story.  Hubs woke me up a short bit later, saying he hated to wake me but needed me to come smell something.  Well, who could resist such an offer!  I opened my eyes, said something melted in the dishwasher and tried to go back to sleep.  What we were actually smelling was a bad main breaker which was quickly heating up our breaker box and the wall.  My wall was hot!!  I shudder to think what would have happened if Hubs didn’t pay more attention to things than I do.  Long story short, we got it all fixed up thanks to Hubs, my dad and an electrician buddy to whom I am forever indebted and I learned to respect Hubs the Super Sniffer.

Macaroni cat, rest in peace

Macaroni cat, rest in peace

We lost our sweet kitty Macaroni on New Year’s Day to sudden and unexplained death, so we rang in the New Year with a

Sad Cheese

Sad Cheese

kitty funeral.  He has left a hole in our lives, to be sure, but his brother Cheese is bereft.  He’s lost his lifelong playmate and has resorted to headbutting me in the middle of the night to play.  Not sure how this one is going to play out, but we’ll manage.  He will live forever in our memories as the only cat we’ve ever known to bury straws under rugs, correctly answer questions and smack potato chips out of your hand with lightning speed.

So, there’s where I am.  I hope to hit my stride again quickly with more cohesive posts, but at least I have written something.

  1. January 5, 2013 at 4:51 pm

    I noticed you were gone. Understood why. But glad you are back. Happy for the pasta and jello!

    • January 5, 2013 at 5:09 pm

      Thank you! I never thought I would be so happy about pasta!

  2. st sahm
    January 5, 2013 at 10:39 pm

    Wow. Life sure crammed a lot into your 2012 before it was over. Hoping 2013 is happy and good for your fam.

    • January 6, 2013 at 8:31 am

      You’re right about that! 2012 was a challenge. Thank you & a happy and prosperous 2013 to you and yours!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

