Home > Uncategorized > Who’s Afraid of the Big Bad Flu?

Who’s Afraid of the Big Bad Flu?

I should do the responsible thing and preface this by saying that I do fully understand the influenza is no joke.  It’s a serious health risk, not to be taken lightly.

Unless, of course, you’re me.  Then you distrust vaccinations, avoid doctors and depend on vitamins and antibacterial soap to keep you healthy during flu season.  Sometimes those things fail, and when that happens, you might end up with the flu.  I’m guessing, of course, since I have not been to the doctor.  I know that I’m feeling feverish, shaky, tired and achy.  I have a nasty cough and a sore throat.  It could be a cold or a virus, but I’m guessing flu.  A very mild case, to be sure, since the one and only other time I’ve had the flu I very literally thought I was dying.

As a result, I have spent the last couple of days on the couch in my pajamas.  Which got me thinking… this isn’t so bad.  And because I do love lists and have very little else to do while lying on the couch, I decided to present to you my top five list of good things about being (mildly) sick on your days off when you don’t have to worry about work.

You can't tell me what to do!  via in.gov

You can’t tell me what to do! via in.gov

  1. Not only does your family not ask you to do things, they don’t even want to get near you.  No one will ask you to cook them food or bring them stuff or take them places.
  2. People bring you soup, blankets and medicine.  If you happen to be out of the seventeen cent Ramen noodles that you’re desperately craving, your husband will take pity on you and go to the store to buy some.
  3. You can take as many naps as you want and no one judges, or worse, wakes you.  There’s less moaning and complaining when you’re asleep.
  4. Ditto for living in pajamas for three days.
  5. You get errands done quickly.  Want to save time at the insurance agent’s office?  Call ahead and ask them to have your papers ready to sign, please, because you have the flu and you’ll be there in fifteen minutes.  It’s an amazing motivator.

Of course, I’m also dealing with feeling like I got hit by a bus and the guilt of knowing that I’ve infected at least one of my children, but we have to take the bad with the good, don’t we?  I have to go back to work tomorrow, so I’m napping, pajama-ing and Ramen-ing my heart out today.  I dearly hope that none of you have to deal with the flu this season, but since it appears to be reaching Captain Trips* proportions this year, I suspect that some of you will.  When that time comes, get lots of rest and fluids and take what pleasure you can in your temporary quarantine.  It may be the only time all year that no one bothers you.  Blessings in disguise, y’all.  We have to take them where we can get them.

*Stephen King reference.  If you don’t get it, you didn’t read The Stand.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , , , ,
  1. January 7, 2013 at 2:13 pm

    I hope you get better fast

    • January 7, 2013 at 2:15 pm

      Thank you…I’m already on the upswing – actually went out of the house today. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

