Home > Uncategorized > The Cashier Revelation

The Cashier Revelation

There is this one cashier at my grocery store whom I diligently avoid.  She’s crazy slow, mostly because she feels the need to examine and comment on each thing that I am purchasing.  The last time I landed in her line, I was buying an enormous variety of liquids for a very sick child and I was not in the mood to chat about my purchases.  She did not sense my mood.  Things were tense.

Anyway, last night Hubs and I went on our weekly date night grocery shopping and I accidentally got in her line.  When I noticed, there was still time to move, but the other line was much longer (go figure) and I didn’t want to hurt her feelings.  I’m mannerly like that.  So we settled in for the long haul.  We chatted about the weather, the quality of plastic grocery bags and other nonsense I can’t recall.  We did not talk about the things I really wanted to discuss, like how you shouldn’t put frozen rolls and Doritos in the same bag or the fact that I was growing old before her very eyes just trying to buy food for my family.  Maybe I was in a good mood, or maybe I wasn’t ready to go back into the cold, cold night, but I found myself reacting better to her than ever before.  Her manager stopped by to tell her to take her break, and she offered to wait until it was less busy, then immediately backtracked, saying that would just make everyone else’s breaks late.  I felt like I learned a little something about her.

Finally, finally, at long last, the last loaf of bread was scanned.  I handed over my loyalty card and my coupons and held my breath.  All went well, and actually more quickly than with many cashiers.  Hey, this is a lady who understands coupons!  One of my own kind!  Then my new coupons started printing, and, boy howdy, did I get a lot of those little gems last night.  As they printed, I noticed my cashier looking at each one of them.  Odd.  Then, as she handed them to me, she shuffled through them and put the best one on top, saying I’d want to be sure to use that one.  Oh, yes indeed.  She sorted my coupons.

via livingrichwithcoupons.com

via livingrichwithcoupons.com

I get in such a hurry sometimes that I don’t appreciate the little quirks in the people around me.  Don’t get me wrong, I still need my cashier to be speedy and I’m not seeking out this lady.  But I can appreciate her in a new way now.  She’s trying to do this job the best she can.  She’s trying to do something extra.  That annoying slowness that irritates me so?  Maybe it provides some interaction and conversation for other people who are less cantankerous than I.  Maybe someone else would have accidentally thrown away that really good coupon.  Maybe there are other people who maintain a dead run just to keep up with life who enjoy a little breather to talk about brands of yogurt.

It does me some good to remember that we’re all just doing the best we can, in the best way we know how.  One woman’s annoyance is another person’s pleasant grocery trip, if you will.  Thanks, lady.  I really do want to be sure to use that coupon.

  1. Wineness
    January 27, 2013 at 5:39 pm

    When someone stops by my blog I always try to reciprocate. I find some great blogs that I would’ve otherwise missed. This is a great post and a great reminder for us “always in a big hurry” people. Loved it.

    • January 27, 2013 at 7:07 pm

      Thank you for stopping by!!

  2. January 29, 2013 at 12:48 pm

    What a sweet reminder to soak up the moments as they come to us. Thank you for sharing!!

    • January 29, 2013 at 7:18 pm

      Thank you for reading!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

