Home > Uncategorized > When You Don’t Care How It’s Made

When You Don’t Care How It’s Made

Hubs has a problem with television.  He likes to learn from it.  Outside of a handful of silly shows that we enjoy, he mostly watches informational crap.  There’s a whole lot of History Channel going on.  Often, I think this is an admirable trait, as I tend to find myself watching drivel such as, well, I’m not going to embarrass myself.  I watch some crap, let’s just leave it at that.

There is one notable exception.  A very important one.  Raise your hand if you’re familiar with the show, “How It’s Made” on Discovery, or Science or some other brainy network.  It’s a show about how things are made, as one might surmise, much like the wonder on Food Network that is “Unwrapped.”  Unlike “Unwrapped,” though, this is a bunch of random stuff, not food.  (I would be remiss if I didn’t mention that “Unwrapped” has lost most of its charm for me.  All the stuff I really want to know about is all secret and hush-hush and they won’t show it.  It’s not that hard to figure out how they make Doritos, where’s the magic in this?)

via amazon.con

via amazon.con

So, what happens is this.  After dinner, when the kids are doing homework and I’m cleaning up the kitchen (not because I’m the woman.  Because I am the only person capable of loading the dishwasher in a manner that will produce clean dishes.  Also because, more often than not, Hubs cooked the meal.), Hubs sits down and turns on “How it’s Made.”  He doesn’t actually watch it, he usually reads a book while it’s on.  So you might think it’s cool for me to come in and change the channel.  Oh, how wrong you are.  “How It’s Made” MUST be on.  Why?  I have no idea.  I think he’s secretly waiting for them to show one certain thing.  I don’t know what that thing is, but I know it’s not rolls of sheet metal, hammocks or blown glass paperweights, because we’ve seen all those and we’re still watching.

It’s not that I don’t find some of this interesting.  On the contrary, I am all but hypnotized when watching the lady make hammocks.  Not because hammocks are that interesting, but because I’m fascinated by the woman making them.  Doesn’t she get bored with hammocks?  Wouldn’t her hands get all dry and cracked from all the hammock creating?  Seems like you would wear some kind of gloves while doing such a thing, why isn’t she?  Even if you love hammocks, do you really want to make them day in and day out?  And how much must one of these handmade hammocks cost, anyway?

I completely miss the point of “How It’s Made.”  Probably because I don’t care how things are made.  I don’t have curiosity about things like that; it’s just not how my brain is wired.  So when I’m forced to watch it, I focus on the people doing the work.  I worry about them.  I see one who has the worst job ever, and then I see another one that’s even worse.  It all looks so BORING and TEDIOUS.  It makes me want to launch a sociological discussion about these jobs and their impact on “the worker,” as the narrator invariably refers to, well, the workers.

At the end of a long work day, I can’t handle this kind of deep thought and Hubs isn’t trying to have a meaningful conversation about “the workers.”  He doesn’t want to discuss the long-term impact of endless hammock making.  He doesn’t care about how dry her hands might get.  He’s more interested in her hammock skills.  It’s frustrating for both of us.  I don’t need that kind of tension.  Sometimes, I need some good, old-fashioned drivel, which has led to our new routine when he turns on “How It’s Made.”  The intro music is immediately followed by a bone-chilling shriek accompanied by a race to the remote control.

Lately, we’ve seen a lot of Brady Bunch reruns.

  1. February 2, 2013 at 1:38 pm

    So that’s on tv, thanks! Wishing you both compassionate listening and happiness.

    • February 3, 2013 at 7:03 am

      Thanks for reading. 🙂

  2. February 2, 2013 at 1:48 pm

    Hand raised!!! I love that show! When someone is actually “making” something. I don’t like the shows where they are putting together engines/wiring/remote controls and such. Ilike seeing things MADE. I could get in to a discussion with you about the workers! Some day, over tea or coffee. If we’re lucky there will be a show on about how coffee is made!

    • February 2, 2013 at 3:12 pm

      That sounds wonderful! I’m pretty sure there IS a coffee episode, I have an echo in my brain of the narrator saying “barista” many, many times.

      • February 2, 2013 at 3:41 pm

        The next time a coffee episode of HOW IT’S MADE comes on, we shall chuckle thinking there is another blogger out there thinking of having coffee while watching it and discussing the person making the thing being made. 😉

  1. March 3, 2013 at 7:44 am

Leave a Reply

