Home > Uncategorized > Playing Hooky From My Class Reunion

Playing Hooky From My Class Reunion

This morning it occurred to me that my twenty year class reunion will be happening this year.  Sweet baby Jesus, I’m older than dirt.  Anyways…since Hubs and I are of the same graduating class and we only live one town over from where we went to high school, we could easily go.  But we’re not going to.  Here’s why.

  1. Facebook is a 24/7 reunion.  Social media has made class reunions irrelevant.  I’m already Facebook friends with a LOT of people from high school.  I know what you’re all up to and you know what I’m doing.  We can easily chat if we so desire.  If we haven’t wondered about each other enough in twenty years to look one another up on Facebook, then we probably have nothing to talk about at a reunion.
  2. Who I am now has nothing to do with who I was then.  These are people who I knew when I was a child.  There’s a reason people fall out of touch with old high school friends…because we grow into different people when we GROW UP!  I am still in touch with many of my high school friends, but it’s not the same kind of closeness that we had then.  Our lives are different.  We are different.  The experiences we have had since we were eighteen have shaped our lives, our personalities and our behavior far more than anything that happened in those four years of high school.  The people who I share interests and experiences with now are not the same as they were then, not because we were bad friends.  Just because life changes all of us.
  3. Nostalgia is overrated.  It’s fun to remember the good old days, of course it is.  But it gets tired pretty quick.  I can tell some funny old stories, but I’m old, I’ve forgotten a lot of them and I can no longer put a name to half of the faces from my high school class.  Anyone who thinks I’m being harsh about this, tell me quick, what color are my eyes?  (This probably only works if I’m flashing you while I say it.  Pretend I’m flashing you.  No. Wait.  Do not do that.  Never mind.)
  4. You cannot catch up on twenty years in a couple of hours.  Seriously, if someone I haven’t seen in two decades were to walk up to me and say, “So, what have you been up to?” I wouldn’t know how to answer.  “Uh, nothing much?”  What have I done in twenty years?  Are you kidding me?
  5. Class reunions are traditionally for showing off.  I have reached a point in my life where I’m just trying to keep it real.  I don’t give two shits what anyone thinks of me or my life and I don’t have the energy or the desire to put on a show, or to watch yours.  So, to touch on the highlights:
  • My job.  I have one.  I have had it for a long time.  I work hard, I’m good at what I do and sometimes it feels like it’s killing my soul.
  • My marriage.  Got one of those, too.  We’ve been married forever and our relationship is rock solid and as comfortable as a pair of old pajamas.  It wasn’t always this way, but we made it to this point because we fought for each other when things were dark and scary.
  • My kids.  I have two, one of each variety.  They are crazy-smart and funny and beautiful and way better than anyone else’s kids, so it just makes for awkward conversation.  Also, there are days when I would like to sell them on eBay.
  • Me.  I’m a little fatter, I have a few gray hairs and a stubborn wrinkle across my forehead.  It seems that your face really will freeze like that.  I no longer have a filter, so I am inappropriate in almost any situation.  I like myself a lot more than I did back then, too, and I am comfortable being who I am.  Take it or leave it.

The point is not to be negative.  The point is that there’s good and bad in all our lives and none of us can be happy until we learn to balance the two, and to laugh at ourselves a whole awful lot.  Who wants to hear a whole lot of good, better, best when we all know that you’re lying?

There are some people from high school with whom I would like to chat over a couple of glasses of wine.  I’m genuinely interested in some of their lives and I think some of us could be really close friends again, but that’s not what class reunions are for.  So, if any of my former classmates wonder what I’ve been up to, I invite you to read any one of my gazillion blog posts to get a peek inside my head.  If you’re wondering what the Hubs is up to, you can glean little tidbits here and there from my life, and otherwise you can keep wondering, since he has respectfully demanded requested that I protect his privacy.  Like Spiderman.  But he’s not Spiderman.  Or is he?

See ya on Facebook. 🙂

  1. February 15, 2013 at 5:32 am

    i totally agree. i think our reunion got canceled last year because of lack of interest. maybe… i don’t know for sure, because i didn’t care.

    • February 15, 2013 at 1:39 pm

      Haha! I think that happened to us for our 15 year. Not sure though, do they have 15 year reunions? It’s irrelevant, I suppose.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

