Home > Uncategorized > Taking Back the Glory

Taking Back the Glory

For the past couple of years, Hubs’ work schedule has allowed him to get home about an hour earlier than me.  This is completely wonderful, because it means that he cooks dinner.  Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind cooking at all, but there’s something delightful about walking into the house at the end of the day to find dinner ready, or at least mostly ready.  Also, he’s an excellent cook, so everything is invariably delicious.

This practice, however, has had an unexpected result.  Because he cooks most often, and because it is so good, my children have developed a belief that he is a better cook than I am.  My son often says that dad is the cook and mom is the baker.  This is WRONG.  I can cook my ass off and I take great offense at these people accusing me of being the second best cook in this house.  Not only am I a good cook, but I can walk into this house at 5:30 and have a meal on the table, dishwasher loaded, help a kid study and wash a load of laundry by 6pm.  Unlike my sweet husband, who is completely incapable of preparing a meal without totally trashing the kitchen in the process.

Now, though, circumstances are conspiring to put me back on top.  Hubs has recently announced that he will be working late until further notice, and I will now be responsible for dinner.  Oh, dude.  I have so got this.  My time has come.  Time to put an end to all the silly jokes (that are not funny) about my cooking shortcomings.

funnyshare.org

funnyshare.org

Last night we were scheduled to have fried rice and pot stickers.  Sadly, I had a giant lapse and forgot to take the ground pork out of the freezer.  That pushed pot stickers to a Monday meal.  This is an issue because, generally, this is a family activity.  It takes a long time to make a pile of dumplings, therefore, we make the kids help us assemble them.  We have a tiny little dumpling sweatshop, if you will.  Pushing this meal to Monday means that (dumdumDUM)  I am on my own.  Also, I don’t believe I have ever actually make fried rice.  The thing about having two cooks in the house is that you both develop your own specialties.  He makes fried rice.  I don’t make it, because I’ve never had to.  I know how to make it, but the pressure is on.  Believe you me, if it is not as good or better than Hubs’ fried rice, I will hear about it.

The other issue is that this meal requires a lot of things to happen all at the same time.  My sweet little son assured me that he will likely not have homework tonight, and he will be happy to help me.  That’s super generous of him, and I will absolutely take him up on it, but he’s too short to effectively manage the wok and the actual cooking of pot stickers is not for amateurs.  My daughter, who has much more experience in the kitchen, and is significantly taller, would undoubtedly be a huge help.  She, however, did not volunteer her services, preferring to lock herself in her bedroom to watch youtube videos and catalog all the ways in which her father and I are lame and unfair.  As her mother, and queen ruler of everything in her life, I could require her to help, but then she would just get that look on her face that makes me get all irritable and start quoting Dazed and Confused at her. (“Get that face off your head!”)  Sometimes it just easier to roll on and be thankful that at least one of your children still likes you.

So, off I go to prep everything I possibly can early in the day and try to develop a workable timeline, or possibly create a clone.  I also need to come up with a list of ways in which my good child can assist.  (oh relax, it’s a joke!  Neither one of mine are that good.  hahahaha!)  If I can get through tonight, tomorrow is Greek chicken pitas.  That’s the easy stuff.  If I play my cards right, I’ll claim my rightful place at the top of the cooking pyramid by the end of the week.

  1. st sahm
    March 18, 2013 at 12:04 pm

    I love this. What a battle in the kitchen with your tough kid critics!

    • March 18, 2013 at 12:06 pm

      I know, right! They’re old enough to be bought off, though, if it comes to that.

  2. March 18, 2013 at 1:10 pm

    Good luck – it’s always so much harder to break those unfair reputations than it was to create them. I’m sure the dumplings will be wonderful.

    • March 18, 2013 at 1:13 pm

      Thanks for your vote of confidence…if things get hairy, I’ll just put my son in charge of them. No one can be mad at an 11 year old who tried his best. 😉

  3. March 19, 2013 at 2:41 am

    I must admit the only thing I cook better than my wife is Spaghetti Bolognaise and braai, but that is a man’s job afterall.

    • March 19, 2013 at 6:14 am

      This is true. My husband is a master of spaghetti. And anything grilled. I am slightly afraid of cooking on open flames.

  4. March 19, 2013 at 7:40 am

    I was cracking up at the “dumpling sweatshop”!!!!

    • March 19, 2013 at 7:32 pm

      We pay them in dumplings. 😉

  5. March 23, 2013 at 5:31 pm

    Very funny. I can relate!

    • March 24, 2013 at 6:43 am

      They’re hard on us! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

