Home > Uncategorized > Now I Have to Lie In It

Now I Have to Lie In It

You’ve all heard the saying.  You’ve made your bed, blah blah blah.

Okay, so I’m going to make a confession today that is sure to shame me and my whole family.  I only ask that you don’t judge me too harshly.  I’m speaking up for all the others like me, who are too ashamed to speak of this.

I don’t make my bed.  Furthermore, I don’t require my children to make their beds.  Our whole household is just a mess of tangled sheets and blankets dragging the floor.

Before you start thinking I’m just a horrible housekeeper, allow me to assure you that I am not.  I’m not great at it, but I do a passable job.  I don’t keep dishes in the sink, I clean floors on a regular basis and I pay my children a handsome allowance to do the things I really detest, like dusting and bathroom cleaning.  I just can’t bring myself to care enough about making the bed to even mention it to anyone, let alone require anyone to do it.

via quickmeme.com

via quickmeme.com

Point 1:  How many people are going to see my bed each day?  Of that extremely small group of people, who consist of Hubs and me and two kids who don’t belong in my bedroom anyway, how many of them care if my bed is made?  And if they are offended by the unmade bed, what are the odds that I’m going to suggest that they do it themselves if it bothers them so much?

Point 2:  When I finally fall into bed at night, I am exhausted.  Who needs the hassle of decorative pillows, blankets, or anything encased in a sham?

Point 3:  Hubs and I are both out of bed by 5:30 every weekday morning.  The cats strongly and vehemently object to rising at such an absurd hour.  Surely you’re not suggesting that I should oust my cats out of their peaceful morning slumber in order to move some blankets around?

Point 4:  I am chronically and incurably late every single morning of my life.  I don’t have time for this nonsense.

Point 5:  You get a visual reminder to wash the sheets.  When it gets too tangled and untucked, or when the fitted sheet literally starts crawling off the mattress, you’ve let it go too far.

Now, I don’t mean to suggest that there are no good things about making your bed each day.  I just don’t really know what they are.  I also feel a need to come to the defense of my mother and let you all know that I was not raised this way.  I was taught to make my bed and I was required to do it on a regular basis.  However, when we grow up and move out on our own, there comes a time when we make our own way in life.  My way is in a rumpled and unmade bed.

  1. Mom/Nana
    April 29, 2013 at 2:52 pm

    Thank you for mentioning house you were brought up, and I do make my bed everyday. Just sayin. 🙂

    • April 29, 2013 at 3:16 pm

      I try to limit the amount of shame I bring upon the family. 😉

  2. Mom/Nana
    April 29, 2013 at 2:52 pm

    Sorry I meant how your were not house.

  3. April 29, 2013 at 6:27 pm

    I’m totally with you…

    • April 29, 2013 at 8:10 pm

      Thank you! We should start a Society of Unmade Beds!

  4. April 30, 2013 at 2:24 am

    Hi, my name is Pieter and I don’t pick up my clothes. We are confessing are we not?

    • April 30, 2013 at 8:30 pm

      Oh yes…once upon a time Hubs had that problem. It took over a decade to cure it. 🙂

  5. April 30, 2013 at 5:17 pm

    I honestly believe that if you can’t find anything better to do than make a bed that’s going to sit invisibly upstairs all day and then get get mussed up again the first time anyone looks at it, then it’s a pretty sad state of affairs. I know I can!

    • April 30, 2013 at 8:32 pm

      Yes! Exactly. I might feel differently if I ever looked at my bed at some time other than when I’m getting into it. Probably not, though…

  6. April 30, 2013 at 9:37 pm

    Solidarity. The bed shall never be made!!

    • May 1, 2013 at 6:08 am

      Right on!!

  7. May 1, 2013 at 6:13 am

    The making of the bed was one of the biggest battles I faced with my mom when I was a teenager. I got around it by never crawling into my bed and just sleeping on top of it with a quilt on me. It made her so mad. Nowadays I make my bed every morning. I feel I have to in case my mom would pop over and do a bed check on me. I love the commentary between you and your mom!!!

    • May 1, 2013 at 6:48 pm

      My poor mother…she tried so hard. I don’t remember fighting it quite as much as you, but we had many heated discussions about the point of making beds.

  8. May 4, 2013 at 9:24 pm

    We don’t make the bed either.

    • May 5, 2013 at 7:43 am

      I invite you to join the society of “we have better things to do.” 🙂 Thanks for reading!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

