Home > Uncategorized > Pug Hunting

Pug Hunting

Hubs and I have recently decided to get a puppy.  We’re fairly locked in on a pug puppy.  When I say fairly locked in, I mean that Hubs actually spoke the words, “We will get a pug puppy or we will have no dog at all.”  Before anyone jumps on me about adoption and rescues, I feel I must mention that we have two cats and two kids and, for a variety of reasons, it’s important for us to have a fresh new puppy that we can bend to our will socialize from day one.  So, as much as I know about all of the older dogs who desperately need homes, that’s not going to be a successful story for our situation.

Let me tell you about pug puppies.  People who have pug puppies are PROUD of them.  Like, $600-$2000 proud.  These numbers may not shock you, but as a cat person who has never paid for a pet in my entire life, I’ll tell you, they floored me.  Hundreds of dollars for a dog.  I just can’t see it.  It makes me re-evaluate my whole dog plan.  Cats are free, you know.  You can practically walk around the neighborhood and find a couple of kittens who need a home.  Sadly, there are probably no kittens on earth who need a home with a cranky, seventeen-year-old Queen cat who hates every other feline on earth and just barely tolerates the one with whom she shares living space.  And if the kitten could win her over, it would still have to deal with our monster cat, who literally does try to eat everything that doesn’t eat him first, humans included.  This is much of the reason that we’ve decided that our new pet should be of the canine variety.  A kitten would just be an annoying snack around here.

So, here I am, longing for a pug puppy and resolutely unwilling to fork over hundreds of dollars for one.  What’s a girl to do?  The way I see it, we have a few options.

  1. Decide that a pit bull is an acceptable substitute for a pug.  This town in covered up in pit puppies.  Hell’s bells, people, have you never heard of spaying and neutering?  Was Bob Barker just talking to himself all those years?
  2. Find a reputable breeder that offers payment plans.  I jest, although this is a real thing.  I will finance a house, I will finance a car, I will never, ever finance a dog.  A dog that must be bought in installments is a dog that is way too fancy for me.
  3. Scour all pug owners in a 200 mile radius for one who is expecting a litter and doesn’t know that they can make money on those babies.  In other words, a pug owner who is a hermit with no internet connection.
  4. Find a nearby pug breeder who likes to give bargains to close friends and make him/her my new BFF.
  5. Find a pug owner with a cake addiction and work out a cake-for-puppy barter.
This tastes better than a puppy.

Tastes way better than puppies, I assure you.

Okay, okay.  I know what’s going to happen.  At some point, I’m going to come off the checking account and pay for a puppy.  I know that.  I’m just not at that point yet.  It’s going to take a month or two of searching the interwebs and fielding “when are we getting a dog” nagging from my firstborn before I reach that point.

Now come on, isn’t there someone out there who has a pug puppy who wants to come live with us?  I have cake.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , , ,
  1. yourothermotherhere
    May 20, 2013 at 10:45 am

    Cake is always a good bribe. Well, okay, for me it is. I’ll ask around about a pug puppy!

    • May 20, 2013 at 11:12 am

      Life would be easier for me if more people were influenced by cake… 🙂

      • yourothermotherhere
        May 20, 2013 at 3:44 pm

        Good one! It’s always worked for me!

  2. May 20, 2013 at 12:16 pm

    Pugs are those dogs who looked like they ran into a door, right?

    • May 20, 2013 at 12:39 pm

      Yep, look like someone smooshed their faces. I cannot explain the appeal.

  1. February 8, 2015 at 12:37 pm

Leave a Reply

