Home > Uncategorized > Pug Hunting – the conclusion

Pug Hunting – the conclusion

So I was browsing some of my old posts and I realized that I left everyone hanging on something very important.  You may recall that we were contemplating becoming pug parents.  Well, we did it.  In July of 2013, we became the proud new family of Lady Penelope von Puggington (Penny if you prefer that non fancy version.  I stand by my opinion that any dog who costs as many dollars as she did gets a fancy name.)

newpenny

The day we brought her home. Isn’t she tiny and adorable??

Oh, how we adore this dog.  She’s spoiled completely rotten.  However, I often feel that I entered this relationship with a lot of notions about pugs that have all now been ground to dust.  She is a handful.  Somehow I believed that pugs were pretty calm and quiet dogs.  Well, she does sleep for approximately 23 hours a day, but in that one waking hour, she seeks to destroy and conquer (and by that, I mean eat every single thing she can fit into her mouth and a few that she can’t).  So without further ado, here are ten things that I did not know about pugs.

sleepypenny

  • They smell just awful.  You know that kind of funk that collects in your bellybutton?  Imagine if your bellybutton were on your face.  Those face crinkles are adorable, but they collect all manner of nastiness and I don’t care how often you wash a pug’s face, they are stinky.
  • They are physically incapable of keeping their tongues and teeth inside their face.  Apparently pugs have the same size tongue as any dog, just a much smaller containment area.  Her little dog lips just can’t hold it all in, and as a result, she walks around looking a fool all the time.  On the rare occasions that she can get her tongue inside, her teeth are showing and she morphs into the fantastic smiling dog.
  • They will eat anything and everything.  Not only does she feel a burning need for every scrap of food in the house, but she also enjoys eating such things as legos, rocks and my couch.  She literally ate a hole in my couch.  I mean, seriously.  Not chewing.  Eating.  She will ingest anything that she can swallow.  I think she has an eating disorder.

oneyrpenny

  • A sense of entitlement.  Let’s face it.  Pugs are freaking adorable.  I am fairly confident that there is no dog cuter on earth than my dog.  People tell her this constantly, and as a result, she has adopted the attitude of a spoiled Hollywood princess and woe betide the soul who does not bow down to her doggy highness.
  • They can run fast.  The aerodynamics here don’t even make sense.  I would no sooner expect a potato to run than a pug, but they can move.  Now, don’t get me wrong, they can’t run long, but they are some fast little suckers for a minute.  If you don’t believe me, just try to catch a pug who just stole a taco out of your daughter’s hand.
  • They manipulate people.  Don’t think for a second that she doesn’t know just how cute she is and she uses it.  Don’t want to give the dog a French fry?  Tolerate a few minutes of pitiful whisper-whines and sad face.  Her whole demeanor reminds you of how much she loves you and how she is your faithful companion and all she wants is one fry. (This is repeated with each and every fry you eat until the end of time.)
  • They can be tamed by cats.  My dog is terrified of cats.  This is mostly due to the fact that she was put in her place the moment she came into our house.  To this day, the cats will smack her on the head from time to time just as a reminder. Not that she needs it, because she has a horrified fear healthy respect for all felines.
  • They never shut up.  I had some misguided notion that pugs don’t bark a lot.  I could not have been more wrong.  This dog just LOVES the sound of her voice.
  • They don’t chew.  I can see why God would have seen fit to provide teeth for pugs, but it’s almost entirely unnecessary.  To date, the only things I have seen my dog use teeth for is chewing rawhide, the aforementioned legos, and my wall.  Food products are swallowed whole.
  • They are loyal and jealous to the point of becoming doggy stalkers.  This dog loves us so much that she can’t bear to see an empty lap, or worse, a lap with a cat in it.  She wants, nay, demands that same level of devotion in return.  Don’t get me wrong, I love my dog a lot, just not to the exclusion of all else.  I think she’s holding that against me a little.

Now, with all that said, I regret nothing.  I mean, just look at that face!

pennyselfie

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. February 8, 2015 at 2:21 pm

    🙂

  2. Shelly Tennyson Taylor
    February 9, 2015 at 9:06 am

    Love the fancy name!! 🙂 She is adorable.

    • February 9, 2015 at 3:03 pm

      Thank you!! She is completely rotten. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

